lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [May]   [20]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v6 12/12] mmap locking API: convert mmap_sem comments
On Tue, 19 May 2020 22:29:08 -0700 Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com> wrote:

> Convert comments that reference mmap_sem to reference mmap_lock instead.

This may not be complete..

From: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Subject: mmap-locking-api-convert-mmap_sem-comments-fix

fix up linux-next leftovers

Cc: Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com>
Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dbueso@suse.de>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Cc: Laurent Dufour <ldufour@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Liam Howlett <Liam.Howlett@oracle.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Ying Han <yinghan@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

arch/powerpc/mm/fault.c | 2 +-
include/linux/pgtable.h | 6 +++---
2 files changed, 4 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

--- a/arch/powerpc/mm/fault.c~mmap-locking-api-convert-mmap_sem-comments-fix
+++ a/arch/powerpc/mm/fault.c
@@ -138,7 +138,7 @@ static noinline int bad_access_pkey(stru
* 2. T1 : set AMR to deny access to pkey=4, touches, page
* 3. T1 : faults...
* 4. T2: mprotect_key(foo, PAGE_SIZE, pkey=5);
- * 5. T1 : enters fault handler, takes mmap_sem, etc...
+ * 5. T1 : enters fault handler, takes mmap_lock, etc...
* 6. T1 : reaches here, sees vma_pkey(vma)=5, when we really
* faulted on a pte with its pkey=4.
*/
--- a/include/linux/pgtable.h~mmap-locking-api-convert-mmap_sem-comments-fix
+++ a/include/linux/pgtable.h
@@ -1101,11 +1101,11 @@ static inline pmd_t pmd_read_atomic(pmd_
#endif
/*
* This function is meant to be used by sites walking pagetables with
- * the mmap_sem hold in read mode to protect against MADV_DONTNEED and
+ * the mmap_lock held in read mode to protect against MADV_DONTNEED and
* transhuge page faults. MADV_DONTNEED can convert a transhuge pmd
* into a null pmd and the transhuge page fault can convert a null pmd
* into an hugepmd or into a regular pmd (if the hugepage allocation
- * fails). While holding the mmap_sem in read mode the pmd becomes
+ * fails). While holding the mmap_lock in read mode the pmd becomes
* stable and stops changing under us only if it's not null and not a
* transhuge pmd. When those races occurs and this function makes a
* difference vs the standard pmd_none_or_clear_bad, the result is
@@ -1115,7 +1115,7 @@ static inline pmd_t pmd_read_atomic(pmd_
*
* For 32bit kernels with a 64bit large pmd_t this automatically takes
* care of reading the pmd atomically to avoid SMP race conditions
- * against pmd_populate() when the mmap_sem is hold for reading by the
+ * against pmd_populate() when the mmap_lock is hold for reading by the
* caller (a special atomic read not done by "gcc" as in the generic
* version above, is also needed when THP is disabled because the page
* fault can populate the pmd from under us).
_
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-05-21 05:23    [W:0.227 / U:0.220 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site