lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [May]   [11]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 2/2] Documentation/sysctl: Document uclamp sysctl knobs
Date
Uclamp exposes 3 sysctl knobs:

* sched_util_clamp_min
* sched_util_clamp_max
* sched_util_clamp_min_rt_default

Document them in sysctl/kernel.rst.

Signed-off-by: Qais Yousef <qais.yousef@arm.com>
CC: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
CC: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>
CC: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>
CC: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>
CC: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
CC: Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com>
CC: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
CC: Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org>
CC: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
CC: Iurii Zaikin <yzaikin@google.com>
CC: Quentin Perret <qperret@google.com>
CC: Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@arm.com>
CC: Patrick Bellasi <patrick.bellasi@matbug.net>
CC: Pavan Kondeti <pkondeti@codeaurora.org>
CC: linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
CC: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
CC: linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
---

Changes in v5:
* Improve the wording about the lazy update and the relationship to
sched_util_clamp_min (Patrick)

Documentation/admin-guide/sysctl/kernel.rst | 57 +++++++++++++++++++++
1 file changed, 57 insertions(+)

diff --git a/Documentation/admin-guide/sysctl/kernel.rst b/Documentation/admin-guide/sysctl/kernel.rst
index 0d427fd10941..6cd3cb0e22c0 100644
--- a/Documentation/admin-guide/sysctl/kernel.rst
+++ b/Documentation/admin-guide/sysctl/kernel.rst
@@ -940,6 +940,63 @@ Enables/disables scheduler statistics. Enabling this feature
incurs a small amount of overhead in the scheduler but is
useful for debugging and performance tuning.

+sched_util_clamp_min:
+=====================
+
+Max allowed *minimum* utilization.
+
+Default value is 1024, which is the maximum possible value.
+
+It means that any requested uclamp.min value cannot be greater than
+sched_util_clamp_min, i.e., it is restricted to the range
+[0:sched_util_clamp_min].
+
+sched_util_clamp_max:
+=====================
+
+Max allowed *maximum* utilization.
+
+Default value is 1024, which is the maximum possible value.
+
+It means that any requested uclamp.max value cannot be greater than
+sched_util_clamp_max, i.e., it is restricted to the range
+[0:sched_util_clamp_max].
+
+sched_util_clamp_min_rt_default:
+================================
+
+By default Linux is tuned for performance. Which means that RT tasks always run
+at the highest frequency and most capable (highest capacity) CPU (in
+heterogeneous systems).
+
+Uclamp achieves this by setting the requested uclamp.min of all RT tasks to
+1024 by default, which effectively boosts the tasks to run at the highest
+frequency and biases them to run on the biggest CPU.
+
+This knob allows admins to change the default behavior when uclamp is being
+used. In battery powered devices particularly, running at the maximum
+capacity and frequency will increase energy consumption and shorten the battery
+life.
+
+This knob is only effective for RT tasks which the user hasn't modified their
+requested uclamp.min value via sched_setattr() syscall.
+
+This knob will not escape the range constraint imposed by sched_util_clamp_min
+defined above.
+
+For example if
+
+ sched_util_clamp_min_rt_default = 800
+ sched_util_clamp_min = 600
+
+Then the boost will be clamped to 600 because 800 is outside of the permissible
+range of [0:600]. This could happen for instance if a powersave mode will
+restrict all boosts temporarily by modifying sched_util_clamp_min. As soon as
+this restriction is lifted, the requested sched_util_clamp_min_rt_default
+will take effect.
+
+Any modification is applied lazily to tasks and is effective starting from
+their next wakeup.

seccomp
=======
--
2.17.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-05-11 17:42    [W:0.169 / U:11.504 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site