lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Apr]   [7]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Date
SubjectRe: [PATCH] kernel/time: Add max_time_namespaces ucount
On Tue, 7 Apr 2020 at 05:31, Andrei Vagin <avagin@gmail.com> wrote:
>
> On Mon, Apr 06, 2020 at 06:13:42PM +0100, Dmitry Safonov via Containers wrote:
> > Introduce missing time namespaces limit per-userns.
> > Michael noticed that userns limit for number of time namespaces is
> > missing.
> >
> > Furthermore, time namespace introduced UCOUNT_TIME_NAMESPACES, but
> > didn't introduce an array member in user_table[]. It would make array's
> > initialisation OOB write, but by luck the user_table array has
> > an excessive empty member (all accesses to the array are limited with
> > UCOUNT_COUNTS - so it silently reuses the last free member.
> >
> > Fixes user-visible regression: max_inotify_instances by reason of the
> > missing UCOUNT_ENTRY() has limited max number of namespaces instead of
> > the number of inotify instances.
> >
> > Fixes: 769071ac9f20 ("ns: Introduce Time Namespace")
> > Cc: Adrian Reber <adrian@lisas.de>
> > Cc: Andrey Vagin <avagin@openvz.org>
> > Cc: Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>
> > Cc: Eric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
> > Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
> > Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> > Cc: Vincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@arm.com>
> > Cc: Containers <containers@lists.linux-foundation.org>
> > Cc: Linux API <linux-api@vger.kernel.org>
> > Cc: stable@kernel.org # v5.6+
> > Reported-by: Michael Kerrisk (man-pages) <mtk.manpages@gmail.com>
>
> Acked-by: Andrei Vagin <avagin@gmail.com>

Acked-by: Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@gmail.com>



--
Michael Kerrisk
Linux man-pages maintainer; http://www.kernel.org/doc/man-pages/
Linux/UNIX System Programming Training: http://man7.org/training/

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-04-07 10:23    [W:0.101 / U:0.812 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site