lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Apr]   [27]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Date
SubjectRe: [PATCH] [RFC] kvm: x86: emulate APERF/MPERF registers
On Sat, Apr 25, 2020 at 8:24 PM Li,Rongqing <lirongqing@baidu.com> wrote:
>
>
>
> > -----邮件原件-----
> > 发件人: Paolo Bonzini [mailto:pbonzini@redhat.com]
> > 发送时间: 2020年4月25日 0:30
> > 收件人: Jim Mattson <jmattson@google.com>; Sean Christopherson
> > <sean.j.christopherson@intel.com>
> > 抄送: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>; Li,Rongqing
> > <lirongqing@baidu.com>; LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>; kvm list
> > <kvm@vger.kernel.org>; the arch/x86 maintainers <x86@kernel.org>; H .
> > Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>; Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>; Ingo Molnar
> > <mingo@redhat.com>; Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>; Joerg Roedel
> > <joro@8bytes.org>; Wanpeng Li <wanpengli@tencent.com>; Vitaly Kuznetsov
> > <vkuznets@redhat.com>
> > 主题: Re: [PATCH] [RFC] kvm: x86: emulate APERF/MPERF registers
> >
> > On 24/04/20 18:25, Jim Mattson wrote:
> > >> Assuming we're going forward with this, at an absolute minimum the
> > >> RDMSRs need to be wrapped with checks on host _and_ guest support for
> > >> the emulated behavior. Given the significant overhead, this might
> > >> even be something that should require an extra opt-in from userspace to
> > enable.
> > >
> > > I would like to see performance data before enabling this unconditionally.
> >
> > I wouldn't want this to be enabled unconditionally anyway, because you need to
> > take into account live migration to and from processors that do not have
> > APERF/MPERF support.
> >
> > Paolo
>
> I will add a kvm parameter to consider whether enable MPERF/APERF emulations, and make default value to false

Wouldn't it be better to add a per-VM capability to enable this feature?

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-04-27 19:31    [W:0.055 / U:2.052 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site