lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Apr]   [2]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Date
SubjectRe: [PATCH v2] phy: qcom-qusb2: Re add "qcom,sdm845-qusb2-phy" compat string
Hi,

On Thu, Apr 2, 2020 at 4:45 PM John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org> wrote:
>
> In commit 8fe75cd4cddf ("phy: qcom-qusb2: Add generic QUSB2 V2
> PHY support"), the change was made to add "qcom,qusb2-v2-phy"
> as a generic compat string. However the change also removed
> the "qcom,sdm845-qusb2-phy" compat string, which is documented
> in the binding and already in use.
>
> This patch re-adds the "qcom,sdm845-qusb2-phy" compat string
> which allows the driver to continue to work with existing dts
> entries such as found on the db845c.
>
> Cc: Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>
> Cc: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
> Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>
> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Cc: Doug Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
> Cc: Manu Gautam <mgautam@codeaurora.org>
> Cc: Sandeep Maheswaram <sanm@codeaurora.org>
> Cc: Matthias Kaehlcke <mka@chromium.org>
> Cc: Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>
> Cc: Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>
> Cc: linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: devicetree@vger.kernel.org
> Reviewed-by: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
> Fixes: 8fe75cd4cddf ("phy: qcom-qusb2: Add generic QUSB2 V2 PHY support")
> Reported-by: YongQin Liu <yongqin.liu@linaro.org>
> Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
> ---
> v2: Add deprecation note on "qcom,sdm845-qusb2-phy" string
> as suggested by Doug.
> ---
> drivers/phy/qualcomm/phy-qcom-qusb2.c | 7 +++++++
> 1 file changed, 7 insertions(+)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/phy/qualcomm/phy-qcom-qusb2.c b/drivers/phy/qualcomm/phy-qcom-qusb2.c
> index 3708d43b7508..393011a05b48 100644
> --- a/drivers/phy/qualcomm/phy-qcom-qusb2.c
> +++ b/drivers/phy/qualcomm/phy-qcom-qusb2.c
> @@ -815,6 +815,13 @@ static const struct of_device_id qusb2_phy_of_match_table[] = {
> }, {
> .compatible = "qcom,msm8998-qusb2-phy",
> .data = &msm8998_phy_cfg,
> + }, {
> + /*
> + * Deprecated. Only here to support legacy device
> + * trees that didn't include "qcom,qusb2-v2-phy"
> + */
> + .compatible = "qcom,sdm845-qusb2-phy",
> + .data = &qusb2_v2_phy_cfg,

Thanks for adding the comment. With that, I'll still grumble but I'm
OK with this if people really want it.

Reviewed-by: Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>

-Doug

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-04-03 01:50    [W:0.076 / U:12.844 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site