lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Mar]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v2] pid: Fix error return value in some cases
On Sat, Mar 07, 2020 at 07:11:36AM -0600, Corey Minyard wrote:
> On Sat, Mar 07, 2020 at 12:00:07PM +0100, Christian Brauner wrote:
> > On Fri, Mar 06, 2020 at 11:23:14AM -0600, minyard@acm.org wrote:
> > > From: Corey Minyard <cminyard@mvista.com>
> > >
> > > Recent changes to alloc_pid() allow the pid number to be specified on
> > > the command line. If set_tid_size is set, then the code scanning the
> > > levels will hard-set retval to -EPERM, overriding it's previous -ENOMEM
> > > value.
> > >
> > > After the code scanning the levels, there are error returns that do not
> > > set retval, assuming it is still set to -ENOMEM.
> > >
> > > So set retval back to -ENOMEM after scanning the levels.
> > >
> > > Fixes: 49cb2fc42ce4 "fork: extend clone3() to support setting a PID"
> > > Signed-off-by: Corey Minyard <cminyard@mvista.com>
> > > Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> # 5.5
> > > Cc: Adrian Reber <areber@redhat.com>
> > > Cc: Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>
> > > Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
> > > Cc: Dmitry Safonov <0x7f454c46@gmail.com>
> > > Cc: Andrei Vagin <avagin@gmail.com>
> >
> > Thanks! I've pulled the patch now and applied.

Applied as:
https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/brauner/linux.git/commit/?h=fixes&id=b26ebfe12f34f372cf041c6f801fa49c3fb382c5

Should show up in -next around Monday and I'll target it for rc6. Should
then be backported to v5.5 rather soon!

Thanks!

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-03-08 18:08    [W:0.038 / U:2.872 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site