lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Mar]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 0/5] dmaengine: dw: Take Baikal-T1 SoC DW DMAC peculiarities into account
On Fri, Mar 06, 2020 at 04:10:29PM +0300, Sergey.Semin@baikalelectronics.ru wrote:
> From: Serge Semin <fancer.lancer@gmail.com>
>
> Baikal-T1 SoC has an DW DMAC on-board to provide a Mem-to-Mem, low-speed
> peripherals Dev-to-Mem and Mem-to-Dev functionality. Mostly it's compatible
> with currently implemented in the kernel DW DMAC driver, but there are some
> peculiarities which must be taken into account in order to have the device
> fully supported.
>
> First of all traditionally we replaced the legacy plain text-based dt-binding
> file with yaml-based one. Secondly Baikal-T1 DW DMA Controller provides eight
> channels, which alas have different max burst length configuration.
> In particular first two channels may burst up to 128 bits (16 bytes) at a time
> while the rest of them just up to 32 bits. We must make sure that the DMA
> subsystem doesn't set values exceeding these limitations otherwise the
> controller will hang up. In third currently we discovered the problem in using
> the DW APB SPI driver together with DW DMAC. The problem happens if there is no
> natively implemented multi-block LLP transfers support and the SPI-transfer
> length exceeds the max lock size. In this case due to asynchronous handling of
> Tx- and Rx- SPI transfers interrupt we might end up with Dw APB SSI Rx FIFO
> overflow. So if DW APB SSI (or any other DMAC service consumer) intends to use
> the DMAC to asynchronously execute the transfers we'd have to at least warn
> the user of the possible errors.
>
> Finally there is a bug in the algorithm of the nollp flag detection.
> In particular even if DW DMAC parameters state the multi-block transfers
> support there is still HC_LLP (hardcode LLP) flag, which if set makes expected
> by the driver true multi-block LLP functionality unusable. This happens cause'
> if HC_LLP flag is set the LLP registers will be hardcoded to zero so the
> contiguous multi-block transfers will be only supported. We must take the
> flag into account when detecting the LLP support otherwise the driver just
> won't work correctly.
>
> This patchset is rebased and tested on the mainline Linux kernel 5.6-rc4:
> commit 98d54f81e36b ("Linux 5.6-rc4").

Thank you for your series!

I'll definitely review it, but it will take time. So, I think due to late
submission this is material at least for v5.8.

>
> Signed-off-by: Serge Semin <Sergey.Semin@baikalelectronics.ru>
> Signed-off-by: Alexey Malahov <Alexey.Malahov@baikalelectronics.ru>
> Cc: Maxim Kaurkin <Maxim.Kaurkin@baikalelectronics.ru>
> Cc: Pavel Parkhomenko <Pavel.Parkhomenko@baikalelectronics.ru>
> Cc: Ramil Zaripov <Ramil.Zaripov@baikalelectronics.ru>
> Cc: Ekaterina Skachko <Ekaterina.Skachko@baikalelectronics.ru>
> Cc: Vadim Vlasov <V.Vlasov@baikalelectronics.ru>
> Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
> Cc: Paul Burton <paulburton@kernel.org>
> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
> Cc: Viresh Kumar <vireshk@kernel.org>
> Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
> Cc: Vinod Koul <vkoul@kernel.org>
> Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>
> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Cc: dmaengine@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: devicetree@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
>
> Serge Semin (5):
> dt-bindings: dma: dw: Replace DW DMAC legacy bindings with YAML-based
> one
> dt-bindings: dma: dw: Add max burst transaction length property
> bindings
> dmaengine: dw: Add LLP and block size config accessors
> dmaengine: dw: Introduce max burst length hw config
> dmaengine: dw: Take HC_LLP flag into account for noLLP auto-config
>
> .../bindings/dma/snps,dma-spear1340.yaml | 180 ++++++++++++++++++
> .../devicetree/bindings/dma/snps-dma.txt | 69 -------
> drivers/dma/dw/core.c | 24 ++-
> drivers/dma/dw/dw.c | 1 +
> drivers/dma/dw/of.c | 9 +
> drivers/dma/dw/regs.h | 3 +
> include/linux/platform_data/dma-dw.h | 22 +++
> 7 files changed, 238 insertions(+), 70 deletions(-)
> create mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/dma/snps,dma-spear1340.yaml
> delete mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/dma/snps-dma.txt
>
> --
> 2.25.1
>

--
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-03-06 14:30    [W:0.188 / U:3.792 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site