lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Feb]   [7]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 2/3 v2] perf symbols: Update the list of kernel idle symbols
Date
"acpi_idle_do_entry", "acpi_processor_ffh_cstate_enter", and "idle_cpu"
appear in 'perf top' output, at least on AMD systems.

Add them to perf's idle_symbols list, so they don't dominate 'perf top'
output.

Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jin Yao <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>
Cc: Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>
Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>
Cc: linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Acked-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>
---
v2: Added Jiri Olsa's acked-by:

https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20200120092844.GC608405@krava/

tools/perf/util/symbol.c | 3 +++
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/symbol.c b/tools/perf/util/symbol.c
index 3b379b1296f1..f3120c4f47ad 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/symbol.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/symbol.c
@@ -635,9 +635,12 @@ int modules__parse(const char *filename, void *arg,
static bool symbol__is_idle(const char *name)
{
const char * const idle_symbols[] = {
+ "acpi_idle_do_entry",
+ "acpi_processor_ffh_cstate_enter",
"arch_cpu_idle",
"cpu_idle",
"cpu_startup_entry",
+ "idle_cpu",
"intel_idle",
"default_idle",
"native_safe_halt",
--
2.25.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-02-08 00:06    [W:0.094 / U:7.084 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site