lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Feb]   [26]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH v3 04/27] ocxl: Remove unnecessary externs
Date
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
> Sent: Wednesday, 26 February 2020 7:15 PM
> To: Alastair D'Silva <alastair@au1.ibm.com>
> Cc: alastair@d-silva.org; Aneesh Kumar K . V
> <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>; Oliver O'Halloran <oohall@gmail.com>;
> Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>; Paul Mackerras
> <paulus@samba.org>; Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>; Frederic
> Barrat <fbarrat@linux.ibm.com>; Andrew Donnellan <ajd@linux.ibm.com>;
> Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>; Greg Kroah-Hartman
> <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>; Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>;
> Vishal Verma <vishal.l.verma@intel.com>; Dave Jiang
> <dave.jiang@intel.com>; Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>; Andrew Morton
> <akpm@linux-foundation.org>; Mauro Carvalho Chehab
> <mchehab+samsung@kernel.org>; David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>;
> Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>; Anton Blanchard <anton@ozlabs.org>;
> Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>; Mahesh Salgaonkar
> <mahesh@linux.vnet.ibm.com>; Madhavan Srinivasan
> <maddy@linux.vnet.ibm.com>; Cédric Le Goater <clg@kaod.org>; Anju T
> Sudhakar <anju@linux.vnet.ibm.com>; Hari Bathini
> <hbathini@linux.ibm.com>; Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>; Greg
> Kurz <groug@kaod.org>; Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>; Masahiro
> Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>; Alexey Kardashevskiy
> <aik@ozlabs.ru>; linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org; linuxppc-
> dev@lists.ozlabs.org; linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org; linux-mm@kvack.org
> Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 04/27] ocxl: Remove unnecessary externs
>
> On 02/21/20 at 02:26pm, Alastair D'Silva wrote:
> > From: Alastair D'Silva <alastair@d-silva.org>
> >
> > Function declarations don't need externs, remove the existing ones so
> > they are consistent with newer code
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Alastair D'Silva <alastair@d-silva.org>
> > ---
> > arch/powerpc/include/asm/pnv-ocxl.h | 32 ++++++++++++++---------------
> > include/misc/ocxl.h | 6 +++---
> > 2 files changed, 18 insertions(+), 20 deletions(-)
> >
> > diff --git a/arch/powerpc/include/asm/pnv-ocxl.h
> > b/arch/powerpc/include/asm/pnv-ocxl.h
> > index 0b2a6707e555..b23c99bc0c84 100644
> > --- a/arch/powerpc/include/asm/pnv-ocxl.h
> > +++ b/arch/powerpc/include/asm/pnv-ocxl.h
> > @@ -9,29 +9,27 @@
> > #define PNV_OCXL_TL_BITS_PER_RATE 4
> > #define PNV_OCXL_TL_RATE_BUF_SIZE
> ((PNV_OCXL_TL_MAX_TEMPLATE+1) * PNV_OCXL_TL_BITS_PER_RATE / 8)
> >
> > -extern int pnv_ocxl_get_actag(struct pci_dev *dev, u16 *base, u16
> *enabled,
> > - u16 *supported);
>
> It works w or w/o extern when declare functions. Searching 'extern'
> under include can find so many functions with 'extern' adding. Do we have
a
> explicit standard if we should add or remove 'exter' in function
declaration?
>
> I have no objection to this patch, just want to make clear so that I can
handle
> it w/o confusion.
>
> Thanks
> Baoquan
>

For the OpenCAPI driver, we have settled on not having 'extern' on
functions.

I don't think I've seen a standard that supports or refutes this, but it
does not value add.

--
Alastair D'Silva mob: 0423 762 819
skype: alastair_dsilva msn: alastair@d-silva.org
blog: http://alastair.d-silva.org Twitter: @EvilDeece




\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-02-26 09:33    [W:0.095 / U:4.848 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site