lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Feb]   [21]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.5 207/399] tools lib api fs: Fix gcc9 stringop-truncation compilation error
Date
From: Andrey Zhizhikin <andrey.z@gmail.com>

[ Upstream commit 6794200fa3c9c3e6759dae099145f23e4310f4f7 ]

GCC9 introduced string hardening mechanisms, which exhibits the error
during fs api compilation:

error: '__builtin_strncpy' specified bound 4096 equals destination size
[-Werror=stringop-truncation]

This comes when the length of copy passed to strncpy is is equal to
destination size, which could potentially lead to buffer overflow.

There is a need to mitigate this potential issue by limiting the size of
destination by 1 and explicitly terminate the destination with NULL.

Signed-off-by: Andrey Zhizhikin <andrey.zhizhikin@leica-geosystems.com>
Reviewed-by: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
Acked-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@fb.com>
Cc: Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>
Cc: Kefeng Wang <wangkefeng.wang@huawei.com>
Cc: Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@fb.com>
Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>
Cc: Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>
Cc: Yonghong Song <yhs@fb.com>
Cc: bpf@vger.kernel.org
Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org
Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20191211080109.18765-1-andrey.zhizhikin@leica-geosystems.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
tools/lib/api/fs/fs.c | 4 +++-
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/lib/api/fs/fs.c b/tools/lib/api/fs/fs.c
index 11b3885e833ed..027b18f7ed8cf 100644
--- a/tools/lib/api/fs/fs.c
+++ b/tools/lib/api/fs/fs.c
@@ -210,6 +210,7 @@ static bool fs__env_override(struct fs *fs)
size_t name_len = strlen(fs->name);
/* name + "_PATH" + '\0' */
char upper_name[name_len + 5 + 1];
+
memcpy(upper_name, fs->name, name_len);
mem_toupper(upper_name, name_len);
strcpy(&upper_name[name_len], "_PATH");
@@ -219,7 +220,8 @@ static bool fs__env_override(struct fs *fs)
return false;

fs->found = true;
- strncpy(fs->path, override_path, sizeof(fs->path));
+ strncpy(fs->path, override_path, sizeof(fs->path) - 1);
+ fs->path[sizeof(fs->path) - 1] = '\0';
return true;
}

--
2.20.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-02-21 09:45    [W:0.985 / U:4.192 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site