lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Feb]   [17]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH 2/5] mm/vma: Make vma_is_accessible() available for general use
From
Date

On 02/17/2020 10:33 AM, Anshuman Khandual wrote:
> Lets move vma_is_accessible() helper to include/linux/mm.h which makes it
> available for general use. While here, this replaces all remaining open
> encodings for VMA access check with vma_is_accessible().
>
> Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org>
> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org
> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
> Cc: Paul Burton <paulburton@kernel.org>
> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org
> Cc: linux-mips@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
> Cc: linux-sh@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
> Signed-off-by: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
> ---
> arch/csky/mm/fault.c | 2 +-
> arch/m68k/mm/fault.c | 2 +-
> arch/mips/mm/fault.c | 2 +-
> arch/powerpc/mm/fault.c | 2 +-
> arch/sh/mm/fault.c | 2 +-
> arch/x86/mm/fault.c | 2 +-
> include/linux/mm.h | 5 +++++
> kernel/sched/fair.c | 2 +-
> mm/gup.c | 2 +-
> mm/memory.c | 5 -----
> mm/mempolicy.c | 3 +--
> 11 files changed, 14 insertions(+), 15 deletions(-)

There are couple of places in mm/mmap.c which could use vma_is_accessible()
as well. Probably missed them, as the order of the VMA flags were different.
Will fold the following changes next time around.

diff --git a/mm/mmap.c b/mm/mmap.c
index 6756b8bb0033..9b9bb4031fd4 100644
--- a/mm/mmap.c
+++ b/mm/mmap.c
@@ -2338,8 +2338,7 @@ int expand_upwards(struct vm_area_struct *vma, unsigned long address)
gap_addr = TASK_SIZE;

next = vma->vm_next;
- if (next && next->vm_start < gap_addr &&
- (next->vm_flags & (VM_WRITE|VM_READ|VM_EXEC))) {
+ if (next && next->vm_start < gap_addr && vma_is_accessible(next)) {
if (!(next->vm_flags & VM_GROWSUP))
return -ENOMEM;
/* Check that both stack segments have the same anon_vma? */
@@ -2420,7 +2419,7 @@ int expand_downwards(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
prev = vma->vm_prev;
/* Check that both stack segments have the same anon_vma? */
if (prev && !(prev->vm_flags & VM_GROWSDOWN) &&
- (prev->vm_flags & (VM_WRITE|VM_READ|VM_EXEC))) {
+ vma_is_accessible(prev)) {
if (address - prev->vm_end < stack_guard_gap)
return -ENOMEM;
}
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-02-17 10:29    [W:0.050 / U:54.820 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site