lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Feb]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[RFC patch 01/19] sched: Provide migrate_disable/enable() inlines
Currently code which solely needs to prevent migration of a task uses
preempt_disable()/enable() pairs. This is the only reliable way to do so as
setting the task affinity to a single CPU can be undone by a setaffinity
operation from a different task/process. It's also significantly faster.

RT provides a seperate migrate_disable/enable() mechanism which does not
disable preemption to achieve the semantic requirements of a (almost) fully
preemptible kernel.

As it is unclear from looking at a given code path whether the intention is
to disable preemption or migration, introduce migrate_disable/enable()
inline functions which can be used to annotate code which merely needs to
disable migration. Map them to preempt_disable/enable() for now. The RT
substitution will be provided later.

Code which is annotated that way documents that it has no requirement to
protect against reentrancy of a preempting task. Either this is not
required at all or the call sites are already serialized by other means.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>
Cc: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>
Cc: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
---
include/linux/preempt.h | 30 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
1 file changed, 30 insertions(+)

--- a/include/linux/preempt.h
+++ b/include/linux/preempt.h
@@ -322,4 +322,34 @@ static inline void preempt_notifier_init

#endif

+/**
+ * migrate_disable - Prevent migration of the current task
+ *
+ * Maps to preempt_disable() which also disables preemption. Use
+ * migrate_disable() to annotate that the intent is to prevent migration
+ * but not necessarily preemption.
+ *
+ * Can be invoked nested like preempt_disable() and needs the corresponding
+ * number of migrate_enable() invocations.
+ */
+static __always_inline void migrate_disable(void)
+{
+ preempt_disable();
+}
+
+/**
+ * migrate_enable - Allow migration of the current task
+ *
+ * Counterpart to migrate_disable().
+ *
+ * As migrate_disable() can be invoked nested only the uttermost invocation
+ * reenables migration.
+ *
+ * Currently mapped to preempt_enable().
+ */
+static __always_inline void migrate_enable(void)
+{
+ preempt_enable();
+}
+
#endif /* __LINUX_PREEMPT_H */
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-02-14 17:45    [W:0.174 / U:4.188 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site