lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Feb]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.9 022/116] media/v4l2-core: set pages dirty upon releasing DMA buffers
Date
From: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>

commit 3c7470b6f68434acae459482ab920d1e3fabd1c7 upstream.

After DMA is complete, and the device and CPU caches are synchronized,
it's still required to mark the CPU pages as dirty, if the data was
coming from the device. However, this driver was just issuing a bare
put_page() call, without any set_page_dirty*() call.

Fix the problem, by calling set_page_dirty_lock() if the CPU pages were
potentially receiving data from the device.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200107224558.2362728-11-jhubbard@nvidia.com
Signed-off-by: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Acked-by: Hans Verkuil <hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Björn Töpel <bjorn.topel@intel.com>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Leon Romanovsky <leonro@mellanox.com>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-sg.c | 5 ++++-
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-sg.c
+++ b/drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-sg.c
@@ -352,8 +352,11 @@ int videobuf_dma_free(struct videobuf_dm
BUG_ON(dma->sglen);

if (dma->pages) {
- for (i = 0; i < dma->nr_pages; i++)
+ for (i = 0; i < dma->nr_pages; i++) {
+ if (dma->direction == DMA_FROM_DEVICE)
+ set_page_dirty_lock(dma->pages[i]);
put_page(dma->pages[i]);
+ }
kfree(dma->pages);
dma->pages = NULL;
}

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-02-13 16:25    [W:0.266 / U:3.192 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site