lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Feb]   [10]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 3/3 v2] perf symbols: convert symbol__is_idle to use strlist
Date


> On Feb 10, 2020, at 8:31 AM, Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com> wrote:
>
> Use the more optimized strlist implementation to do the idle function
> lookup.
>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
> Cc: Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com>
> Cc: Jin Yao <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>
> Cc: Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>
> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>
> Cc: linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>
> ---
> v2: new this series, based on Jiri's comment:
>
> https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20200120092844.GC608405@krava/
>
> ...and this time with the Cc list intact.
>
> tools/perf/util/symbol.c | 14 +++++++++-----
> 1 file changed, 9 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/tools/perf/util/symbol.c b/tools/perf/util/symbol.c
> index f3120c4f47ad..1077013d8ce2 100644
> --- a/tools/perf/util/symbol.c
> +++ b/tools/perf/util/symbol.c
> @@ -654,13 +654,17 @@ static bool symbol__is_idle(const char *name)
> NULL
> };
> int i;
> + static struct strlist *idle_symbols_list;

nit, probably just personal preference:

Maybe move idle_symbols_list out of the function and add the logic
to symbol__init()?

Other than this:

Acked-by: Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>

>
> - for (i = 0; idle_symbols[i]; i++) {
> - if (!strcmp(idle_symbols[i], name))
> - return true;
> - }
> + if (idle_symbols_list)
> + return strlist__has_entry(idle_symbols_list, name);
>
> - return false;
> + idle_symbols_list = strlist__new(NULL, NULL);
> +
> + for (i = 0; idle_symbols[i]; i++)
> + strlist__add(idle_symbols_list, idle_symbols[i]);
> +
> + return strlist__has_entry(idle_symbols_list, name);
> }
>
> static int map__process_kallsym_symbol(void *arg, const char *name,
> --
> 2.25.0
>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-02-10 19:52    [W:0.135 / U:11.136 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site