lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Nov]   [22]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRe: [PATCHv4 net-next 2/3] octeontx2-af: Add devlink health reporters for NPA
Date


> -----Original Message-----
> From: Jiri Pirko <jiri@resnulli.us>
> Sent: Saturday, November 21, 2020 7:44 PM
> To: George Cherian <gcherian@marvell.com>
> Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org; linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org;
> kuba@kernel.org; davem@davemloft.net; Sunil Kovvuri Goutham
> <sgoutham@marvell.com>; Linu Cherian <lcherian@marvell.com>;
> Geethasowjanya Akula <gakula@marvell.com>; masahiroy@kernel.org;
> willemdebruijn.kernel@gmail.com; saeed@kernel.org
> Subject: Re: [PATCHv4 net-next 2/3] octeontx2-af: Add devlink health
> reporters for NPA
>
> Sat, Nov 21, 2020 at 05:02:00AM CET, george.cherian@marvell.com wrote:
> >Add health reporters for RVU NPA block.
> >NPA Health reporters handle following HW event groups
> > - GENERAL events
> > - ERROR events
> > - RAS events
> > - RVU event
> >An event counter per event is maintained in SW.
> >
> >Output:
> > # devlink health
> > pci/0002:01:00.0:
> > reporter npa
> > state healthy error 0 recover 0
> > # devlink health dump show pci/0002:01:00.0 reporter npa
> > NPA_AF_GENERAL:
> > Unmap PF Error: 0
> > Free Disabled for NIX0 RX: 0
> > Free Disabled for NIX0 TX: 0
> > Free Disabled for NIX1 RX: 0
> > Free Disabled for NIX1 TX: 0
>
> This is for 2 ports if I'm not mistaken. Then you need to have this reporter
> per-port. Register ports and have reporter for each.
>
No, these are not port specific reports.
NIX is the Network Interface Controller co-processor block.
There are (max of) 2 such co-processor blocks per SoC.

Moreover, this is an NPA (Network Pool/Buffer Allocator co- processor) reporter.
This tells whether a free or alloc operation is skipped due to the configurations set by
other co-processor blocks (NIX,SSO,TIM etc).

https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/latest/networking/device_drivers/ethernet/marvell/octeontx2.html
> NAK.

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-11-23 03:51    [W:0.045 / U:0.276 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site