lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Oct]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH v4 01/17] docs: acrn: Introduce ACRN
From
Date
On 9/22/20 4:42 AM, shuo.a.liu@intel.com wrote:
> From: Shuo Liu <shuo.a.liu@intel.com>
>
> Add documentation on the following aspects of ACRN:
>
> 1) A brief introduction on the architecture of ACRN.
> 2) I/O request handling in ACRN.
>
> To learn more about ACRN, please go to ACRN project website
> https://projectacrn.org, or the documentation page
> https://projectacrn.github.io/.
>
> Signed-off-by: Shuo Liu <shuo.a.liu@intel.com>
> Reviewed-by: Zhi Wang <zhi.a.wang@intel.com>
> Reviewed-by: Reinette Chatre <reinette.chatre@intel.com>
> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
> Cc: Sen Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@intel.com>
> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
> Cc: Fengwei Yin <fengwei.yin@intel.com>
> Cc: Zhi Wang <zhi.a.wang@intel.com>
> Cc: Zhenyu Wang <zhenyuw@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Yu Wang <yu1.wang@intel.com>
> Cc: Reinette Chatre <reinette.chatre@intel.com>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> ---
> Documentation/virt/acrn/index.rst | 11 +++
> Documentation/virt/acrn/introduction.rst | 40 ++++++++++
> Documentation/virt/acrn/io-request.rst | 97 ++++++++++++++++++++++++
> Documentation/virt/index.rst | 1 +
> MAINTAINERS | 7 ++
> 5 files changed, 156 insertions(+)
> create mode 100644 Documentation/virt/acrn/index.rst
> create mode 100644 Documentation/virt/acrn/introduction.rst
> create mode 100644 Documentation/virt/acrn/io-request.rst
>

> diff --git a/Documentation/virt/acrn/io-request.rst b/Documentation/virt/acrn/io-request.rst
> new file mode 100644
> index 000000000000..019dc5978f7c
> --- /dev/null
> +++ b/Documentation/virt/acrn/io-request.rst
> @@ -0,0 +1,97 @@
> +.. SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0
> +
> +I/O request handling
> +====================
> +
> +An I/O request of a User VM, which is constructed by the hypervisor, is
> +distributed by the ACRN Hypervisor Service Module to an I/O client
> +corresponding to the address range of the I/O request. Details of I/O request
> +handling are described in the following sections.
> +
> +1. I/O request
> +--------------
> +

...

> +
> +2. I/O clients
> +--------------
> +

...

> +
> +3. I/O request state transition
> +-------------------------------
> +
> +The state transitions of a ACRN I/O request are as follows.

of an ACRN

> +
> +::
> +
> + FREE -> PENDING -> PROCESSING -> COMPLETE -> FREE -> ...
> +
> +- FREE: this I/O request slot is empty
> +- PENDING: a valid I/O request is pending in this slot
> +- PROCESSING: the I/O request is being processed
> +- COMPLETE: the I/O request has been processed
> +
> +An I/O request in COMPLETE or FREE state is owned by the hypervisor. HSM and
> +ACRN userspace are in charge of processing the others.
> +
> +4. Processing flow of I/O requests
> +-------------------------------
> +

...



thanks.
--
~Randy

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-10-09 03:50    [W:0.326 / U:0.284 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site