lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Oct]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH 1/1] clk: aspeed: modify some default clks are critical
Date
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Joel Stanley <joel@jms.id.au>
> Sent: Wednesday, October 14, 2020 1:28 PM
> To: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>
> Cc: Andrew Jeffery <andrew@aj.id.au>; Michael Turquette
> <mturquette@baylibre.com>; Ryan Chen <ryan_chen@aspeedtech.com>;
> BMC-SW <BMC-SW@aspeedtech.com>; Linux ARM
> <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>; linux-aspeed
> <linux-aspeed@lists.ozlabs.org>; linux-clk@vger.kernel.org; Linux Kernel
> Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
> Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/1] clk: aspeed: modify some default clks are critical
>
> On Wed, 14 Oct 2020 at 02:50, Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org> wrote:
> >
> > Quoting Ryan Chen (2020-09-28 00:01:08)
> > > In ASPEED SoC LCLK is LPC clock for all SuperIO device, UART1/UART2
> > > are default for Host SuperIO UART device, eSPI clk for Host eSPI bus
> > > access eSPI slave channel, those clks can't be disable should keep
> > > default, otherwise will affect Host side access SuperIO and SPI slave device.
> > >
> > > Signed-off-by: Ryan Chen <ryan_chen@aspeedtech.com>
> > > ---
> >
> > Is there resolution on this thread?
>
> Not yet.
>
> We have a system where the BMC (management controller) controls some
> clocks, but the peripherals that it's clocking are outside the BMC's control. In
> this case, the host processor us using some UARTs and what not independent of
> any code running on the BMC.
>
> Ryan wants to have them marked as critical so the BMC never powers them
> down.
>
> However, there are systems that don't use this part of the soc, so for those
> implementations they are not critical and Linux on the BMC can turn them off.
>
Take an example, conflict thought about ASPEED_CLK_GATE_BCLK is CLK_IS_CRITICAL in clk-ast2600.c
In my opinion, the driver should keep the SoC default clk setting. It is original chip feature.

> Do you have any thoughts? Has anyone solved a similar problem already?
>
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-10-14 07:40    [W:0.086 / U:0.552 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site