lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Jan]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[for-linus][PATCH 5/7] tracing: Change offset type to s32 in preempt/irq tracepoints
From: "Joel Fernandes (Google)" <joel@joelfernandes.org>

Discussion in the below link reported that symbols in modules can appear
to be before _stext on ARM architecture, causing wrapping with the
offsets of this tracepoint. Change the offset type to s32 to fix this.

Link: http://lore.kernel.org/r/20191127154428.191095-1-antonio.borneo@st.com
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200102194625.226436-1-joel@joelfernandes.org

Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
Cc: David Sterba <dsterba@suse.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Cc: Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Antonio Borneo <antonio.borneo@st.com>
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Fixes: d59158162e032 ("tracing: Add support for preempt and irq enable/disable events")
Signed-off-by: Joel Fernandes (Google) <joel@joelfernandes.org>
Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt (VMware) <rostedt@goodmis.org>
---
include/trace/events/preemptirq.h | 8 ++++----
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/include/trace/events/preemptirq.h b/include/trace/events/preemptirq.h
index 95fba0471e5b..3f249e150c0c 100644
--- a/include/trace/events/preemptirq.h
+++ b/include/trace/events/preemptirq.h
@@ -18,13 +18,13 @@ DECLARE_EVENT_CLASS(preemptirq_template,
TP_ARGS(ip, parent_ip),

TP_STRUCT__entry(
- __field(u32, caller_offs)
- __field(u32, parent_offs)
+ __field(s32, caller_offs)
+ __field(s32, parent_offs)
),

TP_fast_assign(
- __entry->caller_offs = (u32)(ip - (unsigned long)_stext);
- __entry->parent_offs = (u32)(parent_ip - (unsigned long)_stext);
+ __entry->caller_offs = (s32)(ip - (unsigned long)_stext);
+ __entry->parent_offs = (s32)(parent_ip - (unsigned long)_stext);
),

TP_printk("caller=%pS parent=%pS",
--
2.24.0

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-01-06 22:21    [W:0.059 / U:11.128 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site