lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Jan]   [11]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 30/62] perf/x86/intel: Fix PT PMI handling
Date
From: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>

[ Upstream commit 92ca7da4bdc24d63bb0bcd241c11441ddb63b80a ]

Commit:

ccbebba4c6bf ("perf/x86/intel/pt: Bypass PT vs. LBR exclusivity if the core supports it")

skips the PT/LBR exclusivity check on CPUs where PT and LBRs coexist, but
also inadvertently skips the active_events bump for PT in that case, which
is a bug. If there aren't any hardware events at the same time as PT, the
PMI handler will ignore PT PMIs, as active_events reads zero in that case,
resulting in the "Uhhuh" spurious NMI warning and PT data loss.

Fix this by always increasing active_events for PT events.

Fixes: ccbebba4c6bf ("perf/x86/intel/pt: Bypass PT vs. LBR exclusivity if the core supports it")
Reported-by: Vitaly Slobodskoy <vitaly.slobodskoy@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Acked-by: Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191210105101.77210-1-alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/events/core.c | 9 +++++++--
1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/events/core.c b/arch/x86/events/core.c
index 6ed99de2ddf5..c1f7b3cb84a9 100644
--- a/arch/x86/events/core.c
+++ b/arch/x86/events/core.c
@@ -375,7 +375,7 @@ int x86_add_exclusive(unsigned int what)
* LBR and BTS are still mutually exclusive.
*/
if (x86_pmu.lbr_pt_coexist && what == x86_lbr_exclusive_pt)
- return 0;
+ goto out;

if (!atomic_inc_not_zero(&x86_pmu.lbr_exclusive[what])) {
mutex_lock(&pmc_reserve_mutex);
@@ -387,6 +387,7 @@ int x86_add_exclusive(unsigned int what)
mutex_unlock(&pmc_reserve_mutex);
}

+out:
atomic_inc(&active_events);
return 0;

@@ -397,11 +398,15 @@ int x86_add_exclusive(unsigned int what)

void x86_del_exclusive(unsigned int what)
{
+ atomic_dec(&active_events);
+
+ /*
+ * See the comment in x86_add_exclusive().
+ */
if (x86_pmu.lbr_pt_coexist && what == x86_lbr_exclusive_pt)
return;

atomic_dec(&x86_pmu.lbr_exclusive[what]);
- atomic_dec(&active_events);
}

int x86_setup_perfctr(struct perf_event *event)
--
2.20.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-01-11 11:10    [W:0.217 / U:5.808 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site