lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Sep]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 4.19 167/167] PCI: Reset both NVIDIA GPU and HDA in ThinkPad P50 workaround
Date
From: Lyude Paul <lyude@redhat.com>

[ Upstream commit ad54567ad5d8e938ee6cf02e4f3867f18835ae6e ]

quirk_reset_lenovo_thinkpad_50_nvgpu() resets NVIDIA GPUs to work around
an apparent BIOS defect. It previously used pci_reset_function(), and
the available method was a bus reset, which was fine because there was
only one function on the bus. After b516ea586d71 ("PCI: Enable NVIDIA
HDA controllers"), there are now two functions (the HDA controller and
the GPU itself) on the bus, so the reset fails.

Use pci_reset_bus() explicitly instead of pci_reset_function() since it's
OK to reset both devices.

[bhelgaas: commit log, add e0547c81bfcf]
Fixes: b516ea586d71 ("PCI: Enable NVIDIA HDA controllers")
Fixes: e0547c81bfcf ("PCI: Reset Lenovo ThinkPad P50 nvgpu at boot if necessary")
Link: https://lore.kernel.org/r/20190801220117.14952-1-lyude@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Lyude Paul <lyude@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
Acked-by: Ben Skeggs <bskeggs@redhat.com>
Cc: Lukas Wunner <lukas@wunner.de>
Cc: Daniel Drake <drake@endlessm.com>
Cc: Aaron Plattner <aplattner@nvidia.com>
Cc: Peter Wu <peter@lekensteyn.nl>
Cc: Ilia Mirkin <imirkin@alum.mit.edu>
Cc: Karol Herbst <kherbst@redhat.com>
Cc: Maik Freudenberg <hhfeuer@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
drivers/pci/quirks.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/pci/quirks.c b/drivers/pci/quirks.c
index 311f8a33e62ff..06be52912dcdb 100644
--- a/drivers/pci/quirks.c
+++ b/drivers/pci/quirks.c
@@ -5162,7 +5162,7 @@ static void quirk_reset_lenovo_thinkpad_p50_nvgpu(struct pci_dev *pdev)
*/
if (ioread32(map + 0x2240c) & 0x2) {
pci_info(pdev, FW_BUG "GPU left initialized by EFI, resetting\n");
- ret = pci_reset_function(pdev);
+ ret = pci_reset_bus(pdev);
if (ret < 0)
pci_err(pdev, "Failed to reset GPU: %d\n", ret);
}
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-09-03 18:32    [W:0.463 / U:4.856 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site