lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Sep]   [27]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip: sched/urgent] sched/membarrier: Call sync_core only before usermode for same mm
The following commit has been merged into the sched/urgent branch of tip:

Commit-ID: 2840cf02fae627860156737e83326df354ee4ec6
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/2840cf02fae627860156737e83326df354ee4ec6
Author: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
AuthorDate: Thu, 19 Sep 2019 13:37:01 -04:00
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitterDate: Wed, 25 Sep 2019 17:42:30 +02:00

sched/membarrier: Call sync_core only before usermode for same mm

When the prev and next task's mm change, switch_mm() provides the core
serializing guarantees before returning to usermode. The only case
where an explicit core serialization is needed is when the scheduler
keeps the same mm for prev and next.

Suggested-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@ezchip.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Eric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Kirill Tkhai <tkhai@yandex.ru>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Russell King - ARM Linux admin <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190919173705.2181-4-mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
include/linux/sched/mm.h | 2 ++
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+)

diff --git a/include/linux/sched/mm.h b/include/linux/sched/mm.h
index 4a79440..8557ec6 100644
--- a/include/linux/sched/mm.h
+++ b/include/linux/sched/mm.h
@@ -362,6 +362,8 @@ enum {

static inline void membarrier_mm_sync_core_before_usermode(struct mm_struct *mm)
{
+ if (current->mm != mm)
+ return;
if (likely(!(atomic_read(&mm->membarrier_state) &
MEMBARRIER_STATE_PRIVATE_EXPEDITED_SYNC_CORE)))
return;
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-09-27 10:12    [W:0.210 / U:1.892 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site