lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Sep]   [19]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[RFC PATCH for 5.4 6/7] sched/membarrier: Skip IPIs when mm->mm_users == 1
Date
If there is only a single mm_user for the mm, the private expedited
membarrier command can skip the IPIs, because only a single thread
is using the mm.

Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Russell King - ARM Linux admin <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@ezchip.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Kirill Tkhai <tkhai@yandex.ru>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
kernel/sched/membarrier.c | 9 +++++----
1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/sched/membarrier.c b/kernel/sched/membarrier.c
index fce06a2e1d89..8afbdf92be0a 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/membarrier.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/membarrier.c
@@ -145,20 +145,21 @@ static int membarrier_private_expedited(int flags)
int cpu;
bool fallback = false;
cpumask_var_t tmpmask;
+ struct mm_struct *mm = current->mm;

if (flags & MEMBARRIER_FLAG_SYNC_CORE) {
if (!IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_MEMBARRIER_SYNC_CORE))
return -EINVAL;
- if (!(atomic_read(&current->mm->membarrier_state) &
+ if (!(atomic_read(&mm->membarrier_state) &
MEMBARRIER_STATE_PRIVATE_EXPEDITED_SYNC_CORE_READY))
return -EPERM;
} else {
- if (!(atomic_read(&current->mm->membarrier_state) &
+ if (!(atomic_read(&mm->membarrier_state) &
MEMBARRIER_STATE_PRIVATE_EXPEDITED_READY))
return -EPERM;
}

- if (num_online_cpus() == 1)
+ if (atomic_read(&mm->mm_users) == 1 || num_online_cpus() == 1)
return 0;

/*
@@ -193,7 +194,7 @@ static int membarrier_private_expedited(int flags)
if (cpu == raw_smp_processor_id())
continue;
p = task_rcu_dereference(&cpu_rq(cpu)->curr);
- if (p && p->mm == current->mm) {
+ if (p && p->mm == mm) {
if (!fallback)
__cpumask_set_cpu(cpu, tmpmask);
else
--
2.17.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-09-19 19:39    [W:0.179 / U:3.200 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site