lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Aug]   [26]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4/5] perf symbols: Use CAP_SYSLOG with kptr_restrict checks
Date
The kernel is using CAP_SYSLOG capability instead of uid==0 and euid==0
when checking kptr_restrict. Make perf do the same.

Also, the kernel is a more restrictive than "no restrictions" in case of
kptr_restrict==0, so add the same logic to perf.

Signed-off-by: Igor Lubashev <ilubashe@akamai.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Cc: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Suzuki Poulouse <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/291d2cda6ee75b4cd4c9ce717c177db18bf03a31.1565188228.git.ilubashe@akamai.com
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/util/symbol.c | 15 ++++++++++++---
1 file changed, 12 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/symbol.c b/tools/perf/util/symbol.c
index 4efde7879474..035f2e75728c 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/symbol.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/symbol.c
@@ -4,6 +4,7 @@
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>
+#include <linux/capability.h>
#include <linux/kernel.h>
#include <linux/mman.h>
#include <linux/time64.h>
@@ -15,8 +16,10 @@
#include <inttypes.h>
#include "annotate.h"
#include "build-id.h"
+#include "cap.h"
#include "util.h"
#include "debug.h"
+#include "event.h"
#include "machine.h"
#include "map.h"
#include "symbol.h"
@@ -2195,13 +2198,19 @@ static bool symbol__read_kptr_restrict(void)
char line[8];

if (fgets(line, sizeof(line), fp) != NULL)
- value = ((geteuid() != 0) || (getuid() != 0)) ?
- (atoi(line) != 0) :
- (atoi(line) == 2);
+ value = perf_cap__capable(CAP_SYSLOG) ?
+ (atoi(line) >= 2) :
+ (atoi(line) != 0);

fclose(fp);
}

+ /* Per kernel/kallsyms.c:
+ * we also restrict when perf_event_paranoid > 1 w/o CAP_SYSLOG
+ */
+ if (perf_event_paranoid() > 1 && !perf_cap__capable(CAP_SYSLOG))
+ value = true;
+
return value;
}

--
2.7.4
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-08-27 03:41    [W:0.117 / U:0.832 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site