lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Aug]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 23/28] perf intel-pt: Add brief documentation for PEBS via Intel PT
Date
From: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>

Document how to select PEBS via Intel PT and how to display synthesized
PEBS samples.

Signed-off-by: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190806084606.4021-8-alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com
Signed-off-by: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
[ Update the example to use a group with intel_pt// as the group leader, as per Alex comment ]
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/Documentation/intel-pt.txt | 15 +++++++++++++++
1 file changed, 15 insertions(+)

diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/intel-pt.txt b/tools/perf/Documentation/intel-pt.txt
index 50c5b60101bd..e0d9e7dd4f17 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Documentation/intel-pt.txt
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/intel-pt.txt
@@ -919,3 +919,18 @@ amended to take the number of elements as a parameter.

Note there is currently no advantage to using Intel PT instead of LBR, but
that may change in the future if greater use is made of the data.
+
+
+PEBS via Intel PT
+=================
+
+Some hardware has the feature to redirect PEBS records to the Intel PT trace.
+Recording is selected by using the aux-output config term e.g.
+
+ perf record -c 10000 -e '{intel_pt/branch=0/,cycles/aux-output/ppp}' uname
+
+Note that currently, software only supports redirecting at most one PEBS event.
+
+To display PEBS events from the Intel PT trace, use the itrace 'o' option e.g.
+
+ perf script --itrace=oe
--
2.21.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-08-14 20:47    [W:0.076 / U:16.512 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site