lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Aug]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 17/28] perf ftrace: Improve error message about capability to use ftrace
Date
From: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

If we link against libcap, then we can state that CAP_SYS_ADMIN is
needed, if not, fallback to telling the user it needs to be root, as was
before linking against libcap.

Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Igor Lubashev <ilubashe@akamai.com>
Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Suzuki Poulouse <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-hhnbjdo8r67054of9zm2kxtl@git.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/builtin-ftrace.c | 8 +++++++-
1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-ftrace.c b/tools/perf/builtin-ftrace.c
index 01a5bb58eb04..1367bb5046a7 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-ftrace.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-ftrace.c
@@ -284,7 +284,13 @@ static int __cmd_ftrace(struct perf_ftrace *ftrace, int argc, const char **argv)
};

if (!perf_cap__capable(CAP_SYS_ADMIN)) {
- pr_err("ftrace only works for root!\n");
+ pr_err("ftrace only works for %s!\n",
+#ifdef HAVE_LIBCAP_SUPPORT
+ "users with the SYS_ADMIN capability"
+#else
+ "root"
+#endif
+ );
return -1;
}

--
2.21.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-08-14 20:45    [W:0.082 / U:4.088 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site