lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jul]   [12]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.19 62/91] perf pmu: Fix uncore PMU alias list for ARM64
Date
From: John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>

commit 599ee18f0740d7661b8711249096db94c09bc508 upstream.

In commit 292c34c10249 ("perf pmu: Fix core PMU alias list for X86
platform"), we fixed the issue of CPU events being aliased to uncore
events.

Fix this same issue for ARM64, since the said commit left the (broken)
behaviour untouched for ARM64.

Signed-off-by: John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Cc: Hendrik Brueckner <brueckner@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Shaokun Zhang <zhangshaokun@hisilicon.com>
Cc: Thomas Richter <tmricht@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Cc: linuxarm@huawei.com
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Fixes: 292c34c10249 ("perf pmu: Fix core PMU alias list for X86 platform")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1560521283-73314-2-git-send-email-john.garry@huawei.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
tools/perf/util/pmu.c | 28 ++++++++++++----------------
1 file changed, 12 insertions(+), 16 deletions(-)

--- a/tools/perf/util/pmu.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/pmu.c
@@ -750,9 +750,7 @@ static void pmu_add_cpu_aliases(struct l
{
int i;
struct pmu_events_map *map;
- struct pmu_event *pe;
const char *name = pmu->name;
- const char *pname;

map = perf_pmu__find_map(pmu);
if (!map)
@@ -763,28 +761,26 @@ static void pmu_add_cpu_aliases(struct l
*/
i = 0;
while (1) {
+ const char *cpu_name = is_arm_pmu_core(name) ? name : "cpu";
+ struct pmu_event *pe = &map->table[i++];
+ const char *pname = pe->pmu ? pe->pmu : cpu_name;

- pe = &map->table[i++];
if (!pe->name) {
if (pe->metric_group || pe->metric_name)
continue;
break;
}

- if (!is_arm_pmu_core(name)) {
- pname = pe->pmu ? pe->pmu : "cpu";
+ /*
+ * uncore alias may be from different PMU
+ * with common prefix
+ */
+ if (pmu_is_uncore(name) &&
+ !strncmp(pname, name, strlen(pname)))
+ goto new_alias;

- /*
- * uncore alias may be from different PMU
- * with common prefix
- */
- if (pmu_is_uncore(name) &&
- !strncmp(pname, name, strlen(pname)))
- goto new_alias;
-
- if (strcmp(pname, name))
- continue;
- }
+ if (strcmp(pname, name))
+ continue;

new_alias:
/* need type casts to override 'const' */

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-07-12 14:23    [W:0.249 / U:3.112 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site