lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jul]   [11]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH] arm: Extend the check for RAM in /dev/mem
Date
Some valid RAM can live outside kernel control (e.g. using mem= kernel
command-line). For these regions, pfn_valid would return "false" causing
system RAM to be mapped as uncached. Use memblock instead to identify RAM.

Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Anders Roxell <anders.roxell@linaro.org>
Cc: Enrico Weigelt <info@metux.net>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: KarimAllah Ahmed <karahmed@amazon.de>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Cc: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
Cc: Jun Yao <yaojun8558363@gmail.com>
Cc: Yu Zhao <yuzhao@google.com>
Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: KarimAllah Ahmed <karahmed@amazon.de>
---
arch/arm/mm/mmu.c | 2 +-
arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c | 2 +-
2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm/mm/mmu.c b/arch/arm/mm/mmu.c
index 1aa2586..492774b 100644
--- a/arch/arm/mm/mmu.c
+++ b/arch/arm/mm/mmu.c
@@ -705,7 +705,7 @@ static void __init build_mem_type_table(void)
pgprot_t phys_mem_access_prot(struct file *file, unsigned long pfn,
unsigned long size, pgprot_t vma_prot)
{
- if (!pfn_valid(pfn))
+ if (!memblock_is_memory(__pfn_to_phys(pfn)))
return pgprot_noncached(vma_prot);
else if (file->f_flags & O_SYNC)
return pgprot_writecombine(vma_prot);
diff --git a/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c b/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
index 3645f29..cdc3e8e 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
@@ -78,7 +78,7 @@ void set_swapper_pgd(pgd_t *pgdp, pgd_t pgd)
pgprot_t phys_mem_access_prot(struct file *file, unsigned long pfn,
unsigned long size, pgprot_t vma_prot)
{
- if (!pfn_valid(pfn))
+ if (!memblock_is_memory(__pfn_to_phys(pfn)))
return pgprot_noncached(vma_prot);
else if (file->f_flags & O_SYNC)
return pgprot_writecombine(vma_prot);
--
2.7.4
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-07-12 00:21    [W:0.051 / U:0.068 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site