lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jun]   [9]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.9 56/83] mm, gup: ensure real head page is ref-counted when using hugepages
Date
From: Punit Agrawal <punit.agrawal@arm.com>

commit d63206ee32b6e64b0e12d46e5d6004afd9913713 upstream.

When speculatively taking references to a hugepage using
page_cache_add_speculative() in gup_huge_pmd(), it is assumed that the
page returned by pmd_page() is the head page. Although normally true,
this assumption doesn't hold when the hugepage comprises of successive
page table entries such as when using contiguous bit on arm64 at PTE or
PMD levels.

This can be addressed by ensuring that the page passed to
page_cache_add_speculative() is the real head or by de-referencing the
head page within the function.

We take the first approach to keep the usage pattern aligned with
page_cache_get_speculative() where users already pass the appropriate
page, i.e., the de-referenced head.

Apply the same logic to fix gup_huge_[pud|pgd]() as well.

[punit.agrawal@arm.com: fix arm64 ltp failure]
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170619170145.25577-5-punit.agrawal@arm.com
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170522133604.11392-3-punit.agrawal@arm.com
Signed-off-by: Punit Agrawal <punit.agrawal@arm.com>
Acked-by: Steve Capper <steve.capper@arm.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Hillf Danton <hillf.zj@alibaba-inc.com>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben.hutchings@codethink.co.uk>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
mm/gup.c | 12 ++++++------
1 file changed, 6 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)

--- a/mm/gup.c
+++ b/mm/gup.c
@@ -1313,8 +1313,7 @@ static int gup_huge_pmd(pmd_t orig, pmd_
return 0;

refs = 0;
- head = pmd_page(orig);
- page = head + ((addr & ~PMD_MASK) >> PAGE_SHIFT);
+ page = pmd_page(orig) + ((addr & ~PMD_MASK) >> PAGE_SHIFT);
do {
pages[*nr] = page;
(*nr)++;
@@ -1322,6 +1321,7 @@ static int gup_huge_pmd(pmd_t orig, pmd_
refs++;
} while (addr += PAGE_SIZE, addr != end);

+ head = compound_head(pmd_page(orig));
if (!page_cache_add_speculative(head, refs)) {
*nr -= refs;
return 0;
@@ -1347,8 +1347,7 @@ static int gup_huge_pud(pud_t orig, pud_
return 0;

refs = 0;
- head = pud_page(orig);
- page = head + ((addr & ~PUD_MASK) >> PAGE_SHIFT);
+ page = pud_page(orig) + ((addr & ~PUD_MASK) >> PAGE_SHIFT);
do {
pages[*nr] = page;
(*nr)++;
@@ -1356,6 +1355,7 @@ static int gup_huge_pud(pud_t orig, pud_
refs++;
} while (addr += PAGE_SIZE, addr != end);

+ head = compound_head(pud_page(orig));
if (!page_cache_add_speculative(head, refs)) {
*nr -= refs;
return 0;
@@ -1382,8 +1382,7 @@ static int gup_huge_pgd(pgd_t orig, pgd_
return 0;

refs = 0;
- head = pgd_page(orig);
- page = head + ((addr & ~PGDIR_MASK) >> PAGE_SHIFT);
+ page = pgd_page(orig) + ((addr & ~PGDIR_MASK) >> PAGE_SHIFT);
do {
pages[*nr] = page;
(*nr)++;
@@ -1391,6 +1390,7 @@ static int gup_huge_pgd(pgd_t orig, pgd_
refs++;
} while (addr += PAGE_SIZE, addr != end);

+ head = compound_head(pgd_page(orig));
if (!page_cache_add_speculative(head, refs)) {
*nr -= refs;
return 0;

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-06-09 19:16    [W:0.352 / U:37.804 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site