lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jun]   [9]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.9 55/83] mm, gup: remove broken VM_BUG_ON_PAGE compound check for hugepages
Date
From: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>

commit a3e328556d41bb61c55f9dfcc62d6a826ea97b85 upstream.

When operating on hugepages with DEBUG_VM enabled, the GUP code checks
the compound head for each tail page prior to calling
page_cache_add_speculative. This is broken, because on the fast-GUP
path (where we don't hold any page table locks) we can be racing with a
concurrent invocation of split_huge_page_to_list.

split_huge_page_to_list deals with this race by using page_ref_freeze to
freeze the page and force concurrent GUPs to fail whilst the component
pages are modified. This modification includes clearing the
compound_head field for the tail pages, so checking this prior to a
successful call to page_cache_add_speculative can lead to false
positives: In fact, page_cache_add_speculative *already* has this check
once the page refcount has been successfully updated, so we can simply
remove the broken calls to VM_BUG_ON_PAGE.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170522133604.11392-2-punit.agrawal@arm.com
Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Punit Agrawal <punit.agrawal@arm.com>
Acked-by: Steve Capper <steve.capper@arm.com>
Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Hillf Danton <hillf.zj@alibaba-inc.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben.hutchings@codethink.co.uk>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
mm/gup.c | 3 ---
1 file changed, 3 deletions(-)

--- a/mm/gup.c
+++ b/mm/gup.c
@@ -1316,7 +1316,6 @@ static int gup_huge_pmd(pmd_t orig, pmd_
head = pmd_page(orig);
page = head + ((addr & ~PMD_MASK) >> PAGE_SHIFT);
do {
- VM_BUG_ON_PAGE(compound_head(page) != head, page);
pages[*nr] = page;
(*nr)++;
page++;
@@ -1351,7 +1350,6 @@ static int gup_huge_pud(pud_t orig, pud_
head = pud_page(orig);
page = head + ((addr & ~PUD_MASK) >> PAGE_SHIFT);
do {
- VM_BUG_ON_PAGE(compound_head(page) != head, page);
pages[*nr] = page;
(*nr)++;
page++;
@@ -1387,7 +1385,6 @@ static int gup_huge_pgd(pgd_t orig, pgd_
head = pgd_page(orig);
page = head + ((addr & ~PGDIR_MASK) >> PAGE_SHIFT);
do {
- VM_BUG_ON_PAGE(compound_head(page) != head, page);
pages[*nr] = page;
(*nr)++;
page++;

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-06-09 18:55    [W:0.366 / U:18.072 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site