lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jun]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v9 02/12] mm/sparsemem: Add helpers track active portions of a section at boot
On Wed, Jun 05, 2019 at 02:57:59PM -0700, Dan Williams wrote:
> Prepare for hot{plug,remove} of sub-ranges of a section by tracking a
> sub-section active bitmask, each bit representing a PMD_SIZE span of the
> architecture's memory hotplug section size.
>
> The implications of a partially populated section is that pfn_valid()
> needs to go beyond a valid_section() check and read the sub-section
> active ranges from the bitmask. The expectation is that the bitmask
> (subsection_map) fits in the same cacheline as the valid_section() data,
> so the incremental performance overhead to pfn_valid() should be
> negligible.
>
> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
> Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com>
> Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
> Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>
> Tested-by: Jane Chu <jane.chu@oracle.com>
> Signed-off-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>

Reviewed-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>

--
Oscar Salvador
SUSE L3

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-06-06 18:56    [W:0.018 / U:12.500 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site