lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jun]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [tip:locking/core] locking/lockdep: Move mark_lock() inside CONFIG_TRACE_IRQFLAGS && CONFIG_PROVE_LOCKING
On Tue, Jun 25, 2019 at 01:46:07AM -0700, tip-bot for Arnd Bergmann wrote:
> Commit-ID: 886532aee3cd42d95196601ed16d7c3d4679e9e5
> Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/886532aee3cd42d95196601ed16d7c3d4679e9e5
> Author: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
> AuthorDate: Mon, 17 Jun 2019 14:47:05 +0200
> Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> CommitDate: Tue, 25 Jun 2019 10:17:07 +0200
>
> locking/lockdep: Move mark_lock() inside CONFIG_TRACE_IRQFLAGS && CONFIG_PROVE_LOCKING
>
> The last cleanup patch triggered another issue, as now another function
> should be moved into the same section:
>
> kernel/locking/lockdep.c:3580:12: error: 'mark_lock' defined but not used [-Werror=unused-function]
> static int mark_lock(struct task_struct *curr, struct held_lock *this,
>
> Move mark_lock() into the same #ifdef section as its only caller, and
> remove the now-unused mark_lock_irq() stub helper.
>
> Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Bart Van Assche <bvanassche@acm.org>
> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org>
> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> Cc: Yuyang Du <duyuyang@gmail.com>
> Fixes: 0d2cc3b34532 ("locking/lockdep: Move valid_state() inside CONFIG_TRACE_IRQFLAGS && CONFIG_PROVE_LOCKING")
> Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190617124718.1232976-1-arnd@arndb.de
> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> ---
> kernel/locking/lockdep.c | 73 ++++++++++++++++++++++--------------------------
> 1 file changed, 34 insertions(+), 39 deletions(-)

Hmm, I was hoping we could fold in the simplification that Arnd came up with
yesterday:

https://lkml.kernel.org/r/CAK8P3a2X_5p9QOKG-jcozR4P8iPNJAY2ObXgfqt=bBD+hZdnSg@mail.gmail.com

Will

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-06-25 14:16    [W:0.064 / U:2.892 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site