lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jun]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[v4 PATCH 2/4] mm: move mem_cgroup_uncharge out of __page_cache_release()
Date
The later patch would make THP deferred split shrinker memcg aware, but
it needs page->mem_cgroup information in THP destructor, which is called
after mem_cgroup_uncharge() now.

So, move mem_cgroup_uncharge() from __page_cache_release() to compound
page destructor, which is called by both THP and other compound pages
except HugeTLB. And call it in __put_single_page() for single order
page.

Suggested-by: "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Kirill Tkhai <ktkhai@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Yang Shi <yang.shi@linux.alibaba.com>
---
mm/page_alloc.c | 1 +
mm/swap.c | 2 +-
2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/mm/page_alloc.c b/mm/page_alloc.c
index 6c9cf1e..53a7a6c 100644
--- a/mm/page_alloc.c
+++ b/mm/page_alloc.c
@@ -624,6 +624,7 @@ static void bad_page(struct page *page, const char *reason,

void free_compound_page(struct page *page)
{
+ mem_cgroup_uncharge(page);
__free_pages_ok(page, compound_order(page));
}

diff --git a/mm/swap.c b/mm/swap.c
index 7ede3ed..170a725 100644
--- a/mm/swap.c
+++ b/mm/swap.c
@@ -71,12 +71,12 @@ static void __page_cache_release(struct page *page)
spin_unlock_irqrestore(&pgdat->lru_lock, flags);
}
__ClearPageWaiters(page);
- mem_cgroup_uncharge(page);
}

static void __put_single_page(struct page *page)
{
__page_cache_release(page);
+ mem_cgroup_uncharge(page);
free_unref_page(page);
}

--
1.8.3.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-06-26 02:03    [W:0.053 / U:0.972 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site