lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jun]   [24]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH v10 03/13] mm/sparsemem: Add helpers track active portions of a section at boot
From
Date
On Tue, 2019-06-18 at 22:51 -0700, Dan Williams wrote:
> Prepare for hot{plug,remove} of sub-ranges of a section by tracking a
> sub-section active bitmask, each bit representing a PMD_SIZE span of
> the
> architecture's memory hotplug section size.
>
> The implications of a partially populated section is that pfn_valid()
> needs to go beyond a valid_section() check and either determine that
> the
> section is an "early section", or read the sub-section active ranges
> from the bitmask. The expectation is that the bitmask
> (subsection_map)
> fits in the same cacheline as the valid_section() / early_section()
> data, so the incremental performance overhead to pfn_valid() should
> be
> negligible.
>
> The rationale for using early_section() to short-ciruit the
> subsection_map check is that there are legacy code paths that use
> pfn_valid() at section granularity before validating the pfn against
> pgdat data. So, the early_section() check allows those traditional
> assumptions to persist while also permitting subsection_map to tell
> the
> truth for purposes of populating the unused portions of early
> sections
> with PMEM and other ZONE_DEVICE mappings.
>
> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
> Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com>
> Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
> Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>
> Reported-by: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
> Tested-by: Jane Chu <jane.chu@oracle.com>
> Signed-off-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>

Reviewed-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>

--
Oscar Salvador
SUSE L3

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-06-24 19:59    [W:0.182 / U:10.620 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site