lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jun]   [12]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/urgent] x86/kgdb: Return 0 from kgdb_arch_set_breakpoint()
Commit-ID:  71ab8323cc357c68985a2d6fc6cfc22b1dbbc1c3
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/71ab8323cc357c68985a2d6fc6cfc22b1dbbc1c3
Author: Matt Mullins <mmullins@fb.com>
AuthorDate: Fri, 31 May 2019 12:47:54 -0700
Committer: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
CommitDate: Wed, 12 Jun 2019 18:52:44 +0200

x86/kgdb: Return 0 from kgdb_arch_set_breakpoint()

err must be nonzero in order to reach text_poke(), which caused kgdb to
fail to set breakpoints:

(gdb) break __x64_sys_sync
Breakpoint 1 at 0xffffffff81288910: file ../fs/sync.c, line 124.
(gdb) c
Continuing.
Warning:
Cannot insert breakpoint 1.
Cannot access memory at address 0xffffffff81288910

Command aborted.

Fixes: 86a22057127d ("x86/kgdb: Avoid redundant comparison of patched code")
Signed-off-by: Matt Mullins <mmullins@fb.com>
Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Nadav Amit <namit@vmware.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>
Cc: Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>
Cc: Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
Cc: "Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavo@embeddedor.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: "Peter Zijlstra (Intel)" <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rick Edgecombe <rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: x86-ml <x86@kernel.org>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190531194755.6320-1-mmullins@fb.com
---
arch/x86/kernel/kgdb.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/kgdb.c b/arch/x86/kernel/kgdb.c
index 9a8c1648fc9a..6690c5652aeb 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/kgdb.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/kgdb.c
@@ -758,7 +758,7 @@ int kgdb_arch_set_breakpoint(struct kgdb_bkpt *bpt)
BREAK_INSTR_SIZE);
bpt->type = BP_POKE_BREAKPOINT;

- return err;
+ return 0;
}

int kgdb_arch_remove_breakpoint(struct kgdb_bkpt *bpt)
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-06-12 19:03    [W:0.029 / U:28.880 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site