lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jun]   [12]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH V6 3/6] jump_label: Sort entries of the same key by the code
Date
In the batching mode, all the entries of a given key are updated at once.
During the update of a key, a hit in the int3 handler will check if the
hitting code address belongs to one of these keys.

To optimize the search of a given code in the vector of entries being
updated, a binary search is used. The binary search relies on the order
of the entries of a key by its code. Hence the keys need to be sorted
by the code too, so sort the entries of a given key by the code.

Signed-off-by: Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
Cc: "Steven Rostedt (VMware)" <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: "Peter Zijlstra (Intel)" <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Chris von Recklinghausen <crecklin@redhat.com>
Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@akamai.com>
Cc: Scott Wood <swood@redhat.com>
Cc: Marcelo Tosatti <mtosatti@redhat.com>
Cc: Clark Williams <williams@redhat.com>
Cc: x86@kernel.org
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
---
kernel/jump_label.c | 14 ++++++++++++++
1 file changed, 14 insertions(+)

diff --git a/kernel/jump_label.c b/kernel/jump_label.c
index 468ca421ad9a..2bd172e1e95f 100644
--- a/kernel/jump_label.c
+++ b/kernel/jump_label.c
@@ -37,12 +37,26 @@ static int jump_label_cmp(const void *a, const void *b)
const struct jump_entry *jea = a;
const struct jump_entry *jeb = b;

+ /*
+ * Entrires are sorted by key.
+ */
if (jump_entry_key(jea) < jump_entry_key(jeb))
return -1;

if (jump_entry_key(jea) > jump_entry_key(jeb))
return 1;

+ /*
+ * In the batching mode, entries should also be sorted by the code
+ * inside the already sorted list of entries, enabling a bsearch in
+ * the vector.
+ */
+ if (jump_entry_code(jea) < jump_entry_code(jeb))
+ return -1;
+
+ if (jump_entry_code(jea) > jump_entry_code(jeb))
+ return 1;
+
return 0;
}

--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-06-12 11:59    [W:0.052 / U:17.932 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site