lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jun]   [12]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH 03/13] driver_find_device: Unify the match function with class_find_device()
From
Date
Hi Lee,

On 12/06/2019 10:32, Lee Jones wrote:
> On Wed, 05 Jun 2019, Suzuki K Poulose wrote:
>
>> The driver_find_device() accepts a match function pointer to
>> filter the devices for lookup, similar to bus/class_find_device().
>> However, there is a minor difference in the prototype for the
>> match parameter for driver_find_device() with the now unified
>> version accepted by {bus/class}_find_device(), where it doesn't
>> accept a "const" qualifier for the data argument. This prevents
>> us from reusing the generic match functions for driver_find_device().
>>
>> For this reason, change the prototype of the driver_find_device() to
>> make the "match" parameter in line with {bus/class}_find_device()
>> and adjust its callers to use the const qualifier. Also, we could
>> now promote the "data" parameter to const as we pass it down
>> as a const parameter to the match functions.
>>
>> Cc: Corey Minyard <minyard@acm.org>
>> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
>> Cc: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>
>> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
>> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>
>> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
>> Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>
>> Cc: Peter Oberparleiter <oberpar@linux.ibm.com>
>> Cc: Sebastian Ott <sebott@linux.ibm.com>
>> Cc: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>
>> Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>
>> Cc: Nehal Shah <nehal-bakulchandra.shah@amd.com>
>> Cc: Shyam Sundar S K <shyam-sundar.s-k@amd.com>
>> Cc: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>
>> Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
>> Signed-off-by: Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>


>> drivers/mfd/altera-sysmgr.c | 4 ++--
>> drivers/mfd/syscon.c | 2 +-
>
> I'm okay with the changes. How do you plan on managing the merge?

Thanks for looking the changes.

I assume, Greg can pull this once we have got the Acks.
Btw, would you mind providing the necessary tags here if you are OK with it ?


Cheers
Suzuki

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-06-12 11:37    [W:0.057 / U:5.784 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site