lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jun]   [12]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 03/13] driver_find_device: Unify the match function with class_find_device()
On Wed, 05 Jun 2019, Suzuki K Poulose wrote:

> The driver_find_device() accepts a match function pointer to
> filter the devices for lookup, similar to bus/class_find_device().
> However, there is a minor difference in the prototype for the
> match parameter for driver_find_device() with the now unified
> version accepted by {bus/class}_find_device(), where it doesn't
> accept a "const" qualifier for the data argument. This prevents
> us from reusing the generic match functions for driver_find_device().
>
> For this reason, change the prototype of the driver_find_device() to
> make the "match" parameter in line with {bus/class}_find_device()
> and adjust its callers to use the const qualifier. Also, we could
> now promote the "data" parameter to const as we pass it down
> as a const parameter to the match functions.
>
> Cc: Corey Minyard <minyard@acm.org>
> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
> Cc: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>
> Cc: Peter Oberparleiter <oberpar@linux.ibm.com>
> Cc: Sebastian Ott <sebott@linux.ibm.com>
> Cc: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>
> Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>
> Cc: Nehal Shah <nehal-bakulchandra.shah@amd.com>
> Cc: Shyam Sundar S K <shyam-sundar.s-k@amd.com>
> Cc: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>
> Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
> Signed-off-by: Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>
> ---
> drivers/amba/tegra-ahb.c | 4 ++--
> drivers/base/driver.c | 4 ++--
> drivers/char/ipmi/ipmi_msghandler.c | 8 ++++----
> drivers/gpu/drm/tegra/dc.c | 4 ++--
> drivers/i2c/busses/i2c-amd-mp2-pci.c | 2 +-
> drivers/iommu/arm-smmu-v3.c | 2 +-
> drivers/iommu/arm-smmu.c | 2 +-

> drivers/mfd/altera-sysmgr.c | 4 ++--
> drivers/mfd/syscon.c | 2 +-

I'm okay with the changes. How do you plan on managing the merge?

> drivers/s390/cio/ccwgroup.c | 2 +-
> drivers/s390/cio/chsc_sch.c | 2 +-
> drivers/s390/cio/device.c | 2 +-
> include/linux/device.h | 4 ++--
> 13 files changed, 21 insertions(+), 21 deletions(-)

[...]

> diff --git a/drivers/mfd/altera-sysmgr.c b/drivers/mfd/altera-sysmgr.c
> index 8976f82..2ee14d8 100644
> --- a/drivers/mfd/altera-sysmgr.c
> +++ b/drivers/mfd/altera-sysmgr.c
> @@ -92,9 +92,9 @@ static struct regmap_config altr_sysmgr_regmap_cfg = {
> * Matching function used by driver_find_device().
> * Return: True if match is found, otherwise false.
> */
> -static int sysmgr_match_phandle(struct device *dev, void *data)
> +static int sysmgr_match_phandle(struct device *dev, const void *data)
> {
> - return dev->of_node == (struct device_node *)data;
> + return dev->of_node == (const struct device_node *)data;
> }
>
> /**
> diff --git a/drivers/mfd/syscon.c b/drivers/mfd/syscon.c
> index 8ce1e41..4f39ba5 100644
> --- a/drivers/mfd/syscon.c
> +++ b/drivers/mfd/syscon.c
> @@ -190,7 +190,7 @@ struct regmap *syscon_regmap_lookup_by_compatible(const char *s)
> }
> EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(syscon_regmap_lookup_by_compatible);
>
> -static int syscon_match_pdevname(struct device *dev, void *data)
> +static int syscon_match_pdevname(struct device *dev, const void *data)
> {
> return !strcmp(dev_name(dev), (const char *)data);
> }

--
Lee Jones [李琼斯]
Linaro Services Technical Lead
Linaro.org │ Open source software for ARM SoCs
Follow Linaro: Facebook | Twitter | Blog

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-06-12 11:33    [W:0.042 / U:8.880 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site