lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jun]   [1]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 4.9 28/74] mips: Make sure dt memory regions are valid
Date
From: Serge Semin <fancer.lancer@gmail.com>

[ Upstream commit 93fa5b280761a4dbb14c5330f260380385ab2b49 ]

There are situations when memory regions coming from dts may be
too big for the platform physical address space. This especially
concerns XPA-capable systems. Bootloader may determine more than 4GB
memory available and pass it to the kernel over dts memory node, while
kernel is built without XPA/64BIT support. In this case the region
may either simply be truncated by add_memory_region() method
or by u64->phys_addr_t type casting. But in worst case the method
can even drop the memory region if it exceeds PHYS_ADDR_MAX size.
So lets make sure the retrieved from dts memory regions are valid,
and if some of them aren't, just manually truncate them with a warning
printed out.

Signed-off-by: Serge Semin <fancer.lancer@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tbogendoerfer@suse.de>
Cc: Huacai Chen <chenhc@lemote.com>
Cc: Stefan Agner <stefan@agner.ch>
Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
Cc: Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Serge Semin <Sergey.Semin@t-platforms.ru>
Cc: linux-mips@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
arch/mips/kernel/prom.c | 14 +++++++++++++-
1 file changed, 13 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/mips/kernel/prom.c b/arch/mips/kernel/prom.c
index 5fcec3032f38f..6131807799b49 100644
--- a/arch/mips/kernel/prom.c
+++ b/arch/mips/kernel/prom.c
@@ -41,7 +41,19 @@ char *mips_get_machine_name(void)
#ifdef CONFIG_USE_OF
void __init early_init_dt_add_memory_arch(u64 base, u64 size)
{
- return add_memory_region(base, size, BOOT_MEM_RAM);
+ if (base >= PHYS_ADDR_MAX) {
+ pr_warn("Trying to add an invalid memory region, skipped\n");
+ return;
+ }
+
+ /* Truncate the passed memory region instead of type casting */
+ if (base + size - 1 >= PHYS_ADDR_MAX || base + size < base) {
+ pr_warn("Truncate memory region %llx @ %llx to size %llx\n",
+ size, base, PHYS_ADDR_MAX - base);
+ size = PHYS_ADDR_MAX - base;
+ }
+
+ add_memory_region(base, size, BOOT_MEM_RAM);
}

void * __init early_init_dt_alloc_memory_arch(u64 size, u64 align)
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-06-01 15:26    [W:0.169 / U:1.848 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site