lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [May]   [30]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.19 138/276] sched/core: Handle overflow in cpu_shares_write_u64
Date
[ Upstream commit 5b61d50ab4ef590f5e1d4df15cd2cea5f5715308 ]

Bit shift in scale_load() could overflow shares. This patch saturates
it to MAX_SHARES like following sched_group_set_shares().

Example:

# echo 9223372036854776832 > cpu.shares
# cat cpu.shares

Before patch: 1024
After pattch: 262144

Signed-off-by: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@yandex-team.ru>
Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/155125501891.293431.3345233332801109696.stgit@buzz
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
kernel/sched/core.c | 2 ++
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+)

diff --git a/kernel/sched/core.c b/kernel/sched/core.c
index bd5ae34c20c0b..6138754e5030f 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/core.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/core.c
@@ -6491,6 +6491,8 @@ static void cpu_cgroup_attach(struct cgroup_taskset *tset)
static int cpu_shares_write_u64(struct cgroup_subsys_state *css,
struct cftype *cftype, u64 shareval)
{
+ if (shareval > scale_load_down(ULONG_MAX))
+ shareval = MAX_SHARES;
return sched_group_set_shares(css_tg(css), scale_load(shareval));
}

--
2.20.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-05-30 06:10    [W:0.648 / U:0.368 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site