lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [May]   [17]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 11/73] perf parse-regs: Improve error output when faced with unknown register name
Date
From: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

Add quotes around the register name and suggest using 'perf record -I?'
to get the list of available registers.

Before:

# perf record -Idi,xmm20,xmm1
Warning:
unknown register xmm20, check man page

Usage: perf record [<options>] [<command>]
or: perf record [<options>] -- <command> [<options>]

-I, --intr-regs[=<any register>]
sample selected machine registers on interrupt, use -I ? to list register names
#
# perf record -Idi,xmm20,xmm1
Warning:
unknown register "xmm20", check man page or run "perf record -I?"

Usage: perf record [<options>] [<command>]
or: perf record [<options>] -- <command> [<options>]

-I, --intr-regs[=<any register>]
sample selected machine registers on interrupt, use -I ? to list register names
#

Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-9a9hyuum8c0oggg86xd3sxc5@git.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/util/parse-regs-options.c | 3 +--
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/parse-regs-options.c b/tools/perf/util/parse-regs-options.c
index e6599e290f46..9cb187a20fe2 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/parse-regs-options.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/parse-regs-options.c
@@ -48,8 +48,7 @@ parse_regs(const struct option *opt, const char *str, int unset)
break;
}
if (!r->name) {
- ui__warning("unknown register %s,"
- " check man page\n", s);
+ ui__warning("Unknown register \"%s\", check man page or run \"perf record -I?\"\n", s);
goto error;
}

--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-05-17 21:38    [W:0.177 / U:45.464 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site