lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [May]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 5.0 33/34] perf cs-etm: Always allocate memory for cs_etm_queue::prev_packet
Date
From: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>

[ Upstream commit 35bb59c10a6d0578806dd500477dae9cb4be344e ]

Robert Walker reported a segmentation fault is observed when process
CoreSight trace data; this issue can be easily reproduced by the command
'perf report --itrace=i1000i' for decoding tracing data.

If neither the 'b' flag (synthesize branches events) nor 'l' flag
(synthesize last branch entries) are specified to option '--itrace',
cs_etm_queue::prev_packet will not been initialised. After merging the
code to support exception packets and sample flags, there introduced a
number of uses of cs_etm_queue::prev_packet without checking whether it
is valid, for these cases any accessing to uninitialised prev_packet
will cause crash.

As cs_etm_queue::prev_packet is used more widely now and it's already
hard to follow which functions have been called in a context where the
validity of cs_etm_queue::prev_packet has been checked, this patch
always allocates memory for cs_etm_queue::prev_packet.

Reported-by: Robert Walker <robert.walker@arm.com>
Suggested-by: Robert Walker <robert.walker@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>
Tested-by: Robert Walker <robert.walker@arm.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>
Cc: Mike Leach <mike.leach@linaro.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Suzuki K Poulouse <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Fixes: 7100b12cf474 ("perf cs-etm: Generate branch sample for exception packet")
Fixes: 24fff5eb2b93 ("perf cs-etm: Avoid stale branch samples when flush packet")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190428083228.20246-1-leo.yan@linaro.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c | 8 +++-----
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c b/tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c
index 27a374ddf6615..947f1bb2fbdfb 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c
@@ -345,11 +345,9 @@ static struct cs_etm_queue *cs_etm__alloc_queue(struct cs_etm_auxtrace *etm,
if (!etmq->packet)
goto out_free;

- if (etm->synth_opts.last_branch || etm->sample_branches) {
- etmq->prev_packet = zalloc(szp);
- if (!etmq->prev_packet)
- goto out_free;
- }
+ etmq->prev_packet = zalloc(szp);
+ if (!etmq->prev_packet)
+ goto out_free;

if (etm->synth_opts.last_branch) {
size_t sz = sizeof(struct branch_stack);
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-05-16 13:47    [W:0.090 / U:1.532 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site