lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [May]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.0 054/137] perf top: Always sample time to satisfy needs of use of ordered queuing
Date
[ Upstream commit 1e6db2ee86e6a4399fc0ae5689e55e0fd1c43caf ]

Bastian reported broken 'perf top -p PID' command, it won't display any
data.

The problem is that for -p option we monitor single thread, so we don't
enable time in samples, because it's not needed.

However since commit 16c66bc167cc we use ordered queues to stash data
plus later commits added logic for dropping samples in case there's big
load and we don't keep up. All this needs timestamp for sample. Enabling
it unconditionally for perf top.

Reported-by: Bastian Beischer <bastian.beischer@rwth-aachen.de>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Tested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: bastian beischer <bastian.beischer@rwth-aachen.de>
Fixes: 16c66bc167cc ("perf top: Add processing thread")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190415125333.27160-1-jolsa@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
tools/perf/builtin-top.c | 1 +
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+)

diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-top.c b/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
index 616408251e258..63750a711123f 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-top.c
@@ -1393,6 +1393,7 @@ int cmd_top(int argc, const char **argv)
* */
.overwrite = 0,
.sample_time = true,
+ .sample_time_set = true,
},
.max_stack = sysctl__max_stack(),
.annotation_opts = annotation__default_options,
--
2.20.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-05-15 13:28    [W:0.266 / U:31.384 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site