lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [May]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.9 38/51] x86/vdso: Pass --eh-frame-hdr to the linker
Date
From: Alistair Strachan <astrachan@google.com>

commit cd01544a268ad8ee5b1dfe42c4393f1095f86879 upstream.

Commit

379d98ddf413 ("x86: vdso: Use $LD instead of $CC to link")

accidentally broke unwinding from userspace, because ld would strip the
.eh_frame sections when linking.

Originally, the compiler would implicitly add --eh-frame-hdr when
invoking the linker, but when this Makefile was converted from invoking
ld via the compiler, to invoking it directly (like vmlinux does),
the flag was missed. (The EH_FRAME section is important for the VDSO
shared libraries, but not for vmlinux.)

Fix the problem by explicitly specifying --eh-frame-hdr, which restores
parity with the old method.

See relevant bug reports for additional info:

https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=201741
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1659295

Fixes: 379d98ddf413 ("x86: vdso: Use $LD instead of $CC to link")
Reported-by: Florian Weimer <fweimer@redhat.com>
Reported-by: Carlos O'Donell <carlos@redhat.com>
Reported-by: "H. J. Lu" <hjl.tools@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Alistair Strachan <astrachan@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Tested-by: Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Carlos O'Donell <carlos@redhat.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Joel Fernandes <joel@joelfernandes.org>
Cc: kernel-team@android.com
Cc: Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>
Cc: stable <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: X86 ML <x86@kernel.org>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181214223637.35954-1-astrachan@google.com
Signed-off-by: Nobuhiro Iwamatsu <nobuhiro1.iwamatsu@toshiba.co.jp>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
arch/x86/entry/vdso/Makefile | 3 ++-
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/arch/x86/entry/vdso/Makefile
+++ b/arch/x86/entry/vdso/Makefile
@@ -167,7 +167,8 @@ quiet_cmd_vdso = VDSO $@
sh $(srctree)/$(src)/checkundef.sh '$(NM)' '$@'

VDSO_LDFLAGS = -shared $(call ld-option, --hash-style=both) \
- $(call ld-option, --build-id) -Bsymbolic
+ $(call ld-option, --build-id) $(call ld-option, --eh-frame-hdr) \
+ -Bsymbolic
GCOV_PROFILE := n

#

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-05-15 13:15    [W:0.135 / U:14.192 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site