lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [May]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[RFC PATCH v3 03/21] x86/hpet: Calculate ticks-per-second in a separate function
Date
It is easier to compute the expiration times of an HPET timer by using
its frequency (i.e., the number of times it ticks in a second) than its
period, as given in the capabilities register.

In addition to the HPET char driver, the HPET-based hardlockup detector
will also need to know the timer's frequency. Thus, create a common
function that both can use.

Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi.kleen@intel.com>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Clemens Ladisch <clemens@ladisch.de>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>
Cc: Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Suravee Suthikulpanit <Suravee.Suthikulpanit@amd.com>
Cc: "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
Cc: x86@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
---
drivers/char/hpet.c | 31 ++++++++++++++++++++++++-------
include/linux/hpet.h | 1 +
2 files changed, 25 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/char/hpet.c b/drivers/char/hpet.c
index d0ad85900b79..bdcbecfdb858 100644
--- a/drivers/char/hpet.c
+++ b/drivers/char/hpet.c
@@ -836,6 +836,29 @@ static unsigned long hpet_calibrate(struct hpets *hpetp)
return ret;
}

+u64 hpet_get_ticks_per_sec(u64 hpet_caps)
+{
+ u64 ticks_per_sec, period;
+
+ period = (hpet_caps & HPET_COUNTER_CLK_PERIOD_MASK) >>
+ HPET_COUNTER_CLK_PERIOD_SHIFT; /* fs, 10^-15 */
+
+ /*
+ * The frequency is the reciprocal of the period. The period is given
+ * femtoseconds per second. Thus, prepare a dividend to obtain the
+ * frequency in ticks per second.
+ */
+
+ /* 10^15 femtoseconds per second */
+ ticks_per_sec = 1000000000000000uLL;
+ ticks_per_sec += period >> 1; /* round */
+
+ /* The quotient is put in the dividend. We drop the remainder. */
+ do_div(ticks_per_sec, period);
+
+ return ticks_per_sec;
+}
+
int hpet_alloc(struct hpet_data *hdp)
{
u64 cap, mcfg;
@@ -844,7 +867,6 @@ int hpet_alloc(struct hpet_data *hdp)
struct hpets *hpetp;
struct hpet __iomem *hpet;
static struct hpets *last;
- unsigned long period;
unsigned long long temp;
u32 remainder;

@@ -894,12 +916,7 @@ int hpet_alloc(struct hpet_data *hdp)

last = hpetp;

- period = (cap & HPET_COUNTER_CLK_PERIOD_MASK) >>
- HPET_COUNTER_CLK_PERIOD_SHIFT; /* fs, 10^-15 */
- temp = 1000000000000000uLL; /* 10^15 femtoseconds per second */
- temp += period >> 1; /* round */
- do_div(temp, period);
- hpetp->hp_tick_freq = temp; /* ticks per second */
+ hpetp->hp_tick_freq = hpet_get_ticks_per_sec(cap);

printk(KERN_INFO "hpet%d: at MMIO 0x%lx, IRQ%s",
hpetp->hp_which, hdp->hd_phys_address,
diff --git a/include/linux/hpet.h b/include/linux/hpet.h
index 8604564b985d..e7b36bcf4699 100644
--- a/include/linux/hpet.h
+++ b/include/linux/hpet.h
@@ -107,5 +107,6 @@ static inline void hpet_reserve_timer(struct hpet_data *hd, int timer)
}

int hpet_alloc(struct hpet_data *);
+u64 hpet_get_ticks_per_sec(u64 hpet_caps);

#endif /* !__HPET__ */
--
2.17.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-05-14 16:04    [W:0.139 / U:14.576 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site