lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [May]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[RFC PATCH v3 08/21] watchdog/hardlockup: Decouple the hardlockup detector from perf
Date
The current default implementation of the hardlockup detector assumes that
it is implemented using perf events. However, the hardlockup detector can
be driven by other sources of non-maskable interrupts (e.g., a properly
configured timer).

Group and wrap in #ifdef CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF all the code
specific to perf: create and manage perf events, stop and start the perf-
based detector.

The generic portion of the detector (monitor the timers' thresholds, check
timestamps and detect hardlockups as well as the implementation of
arch_touch_nmi_watchdog()) is now selected with the new intermediate config
symbol CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_CORE.

The perf-based implementation of the detector selects the new intermediate
symbol. Other implementations should do the same.

Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi.kleen@intel.com>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Cc: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com>
Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>
Cc: Babu Moger <Babu.Moger@amd.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>
Cc: Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>
Cc: Byungchul Park <byungchul.park@lge.com>
Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@kernel.org>
Cc: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>
Cc: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>
Cc: Kai-Heng Feng <kai.heng.feng@canonical.com>
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Suravee Suthikulpanit <Suravee.Suthikulpanit@amd.com>
Cc: "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
Cc: x86@kernel.org
Cc: sparclinux@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
---
include/linux/nmi.h | 5 ++++-
kernel/Makefile | 2 +-
kernel/watchdog_hld.c | 32 ++++++++++++++++++++------------
lib/Kconfig.debug | 4 ++++
4 files changed, 29 insertions(+), 14 deletions(-)

diff --git a/include/linux/nmi.h b/include/linux/nmi.h
index 5a8b19749769..e5f1a86e20b7 100644
--- a/include/linux/nmi.h
+++ b/include/linux/nmi.h
@@ -94,8 +94,11 @@ static inline void hardlockup_detector_disable(void) {}
# define NMI_WATCHDOG_SYSCTL_PERM 0444
#endif

-#if defined(CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF)
+#if defined(CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_CORE)
extern void arch_touch_nmi_watchdog(void);
+#endif
+
+#if defined(CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF)
extern void hardlockup_detector_perf_stop(void);
extern void hardlockup_detector_perf_restart(void);
extern void hardlockup_detector_perf_disable(void);
diff --git a/kernel/Makefile b/kernel/Makefile
index 62471e75a2b0..e9bdbaa1ed50 100644
--- a/kernel/Makefile
+++ b/kernel/Makefile
@@ -82,7 +82,7 @@ obj-$(CONFIG_FAIL_FUNCTION) += fail_function.o
obj-$(CONFIG_KGDB) += debug/
obj-$(CONFIG_DETECT_HUNG_TASK) += hung_task.o
obj-$(CONFIG_LOCKUP_DETECTOR) += watchdog.o
-obj-$(CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF) += watchdog_hld.o
+obj-$(CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_CORE) += watchdog_hld.o
obj-$(CONFIG_SECCOMP) += seccomp.o
obj-$(CONFIG_RELAY) += relay.o
obj-$(CONFIG_SYSCTL) += utsname_sysctl.o
diff --git a/kernel/watchdog_hld.c b/kernel/watchdog_hld.c
index b352e507b17f..bb6435978c46 100644
--- a/kernel/watchdog_hld.c
+++ b/kernel/watchdog_hld.c
@@ -22,12 +22,8 @@

static DEFINE_PER_CPU(bool, hard_watchdog_warn);
static DEFINE_PER_CPU(bool, watchdog_nmi_touch);
-static DEFINE_PER_CPU(struct perf_event *, watchdog_ev);
-static DEFINE_PER_CPU(struct perf_event *, dead_event);
-static struct cpumask dead_events_mask;

static unsigned long hardlockup_allcpu_dumped;
-static atomic_t watchdog_cpus = ATOMIC_INIT(0);

notrace void arch_touch_nmi_watchdog(void)
{
@@ -98,14 +94,6 @@ static inline bool watchdog_check_timestamp(void)
}
#endif

-static struct perf_event_attr wd_hw_attr = {
- .type = PERF_TYPE_HARDWARE,
- .config = PERF_COUNT_HW_CPU_CYCLES,
- .size = sizeof(struct perf_event_attr),
- .pinned = 1,
- .disabled = 1,
-};
-
void inspect_for_hardlockups(struct pt_regs *regs)
{
if (__this_cpu_read(watchdog_nmi_touch) == true) {
@@ -157,6 +145,24 @@ void inspect_for_hardlockups(struct pt_regs *regs)
return;
}

+#ifdef CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF
+#undef pr_fmt
+#define pr_fmt(fmt) "NMI perf watchdog: " fmt
+
+static DEFINE_PER_CPU(struct perf_event *, watchdog_ev);
+static DEFINE_PER_CPU(struct perf_event *, dead_event);
+static struct cpumask dead_events_mask;
+
+static atomic_t watchdog_cpus = ATOMIC_INIT(0);
+
+static struct perf_event_attr wd_hw_attr = {
+ .type = PERF_TYPE_HARDWARE,
+ .config = PERF_COUNT_HW_CPU_CYCLES,
+ .size = sizeof(struct perf_event_attr),
+ .pinned = 1,
+ .disabled = 1,
+};
+
/* Callback function for perf event subsystem */
static void watchdog_overflow_callback(struct perf_event *event,
struct perf_sample_data *data,
@@ -298,3 +304,5 @@ int __init hardlockup_detector_perf_init(void)
}
return ret;
}
+
+#endif /* CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF */
diff --git a/lib/Kconfig.debug b/lib/Kconfig.debug
index d5a4a4036d2f..c7eaa4091743 100644
--- a/lib/Kconfig.debug
+++ b/lib/Kconfig.debug
@@ -848,9 +848,13 @@ config BOOTPARAM_SOFTLOCKUP_PANIC_VALUE
default 0 if !BOOTPARAM_SOFTLOCKUP_PANIC
default 1 if BOOTPARAM_SOFTLOCKUP_PANIC

+config HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_CORE
+ bool
+
config HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF
bool
select SOFTLOCKUP_DETECTOR
+ select HARDLOCUP_DETECTOR_CORE

#
# Enables a timestamp based low pass filter to compensate for perf based
--
2.17.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-05-14 16:04    [W:0.105 / U:0.088 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site