lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:core/stacktrace] tracing: Make ftrace_trace_userstack() static and conditional
Commit-ID:  c438f140cc16d47fac808d893f5017f6d641cb46
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/c438f140cc16d47fac808d893f5017f6d641cb46
Author: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
AuthorDate: Thu, 25 Apr 2019 11:45:15 +0200
Committer: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CommitDate: Mon, 29 Apr 2019 12:37:55 +0200

tracing: Make ftrace_trace_userstack() static and conditional

It's only used in trace.c and there is absolutely no point in compiling it
in when user space stack traces are not supported.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Reviewed-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Reviewed-by: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>
Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: kasan-dev@googlegroups.com
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Akinobu Mita <akinobu.mita@gmail.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org
Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
Cc: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>
Cc: Johannes Thumshirn <jthumshirn@suse.de>
Cc: David Sterba <dsterba@suse.com>
Cc: Chris Mason <clm@fb.com>
Cc: Josef Bacik <josef@toxicpanda.com>
Cc: linux-btrfs@vger.kernel.org
Cc: dm-devel@redhat.com
Cc: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com>
Cc: Alasdair Kergon <agk@redhat.com>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>
Cc: intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org
Cc: Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>
Cc: dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
Cc: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>
Cc: Tom Zanussi <tom.zanussi@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Miroslav Benes <mbenes@suse.cz>
Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190425094803.162400595@linutronix.de

---
kernel/trace/trace.c | 14 ++++++++------
kernel/trace/trace.h | 8 --------
2 files changed, 8 insertions(+), 14 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/trace/trace.c b/kernel/trace/trace.c
index 4fc93004feab..d8369d27c1af 100644
--- a/kernel/trace/trace.c
+++ b/kernel/trace/trace.c
@@ -159,6 +159,8 @@ static union trace_eval_map_item *trace_eval_maps;
#endif /* CONFIG_TRACE_EVAL_MAP_FILE */

static int tracing_set_tracer(struct trace_array *tr, const char *buf);
+static void ftrace_trace_userstack(struct ring_buffer *buffer,
+ unsigned long flags, int pc);

#define MAX_TRACER_SIZE 100
static char bootup_tracer_buf[MAX_TRACER_SIZE] __initdata;
@@ -2905,9 +2907,10 @@ void trace_dump_stack(int skip)
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(trace_dump_stack);

+#ifdef CONFIG_USER_STACKTRACE_SUPPORT
static DEFINE_PER_CPU(int, user_stack_count);

-void
+static void
ftrace_trace_userstack(struct ring_buffer *buffer, unsigned long flags, int pc)
{
struct trace_event_call *call = &event_user_stack;
@@ -2958,13 +2961,12 @@ ftrace_trace_userstack(struct ring_buffer *buffer, unsigned long flags, int pc)
out:
preempt_enable();
}
-
-#ifdef UNUSED
-static void __trace_userstack(struct trace_array *tr, unsigned long flags)
+#else /* CONFIG_USER_STACKTRACE_SUPPORT */
+static void ftrace_trace_userstack(struct ring_buffer *buffer,
+ unsigned long flags, int pc)
{
- ftrace_trace_userstack(tr, flags, preempt_count());
}
-#endif /* UNUSED */
+#endif /* !CONFIG_USER_STACKTRACE_SUPPORT */

#endif /* CONFIG_STACKTRACE */

diff --git a/kernel/trace/trace.h b/kernel/trace/trace.h
index d80cee49e0eb..639047b259d7 100644
--- a/kernel/trace/trace.h
+++ b/kernel/trace/trace.h
@@ -782,17 +782,9 @@ void update_max_tr_single(struct trace_array *tr,
#endif /* CONFIG_TRACER_MAX_TRACE */

#ifdef CONFIG_STACKTRACE
-void ftrace_trace_userstack(struct ring_buffer *buffer, unsigned long flags,
- int pc);
-
void __trace_stack(struct trace_array *tr, unsigned long flags, int skip,
int pc);
#else
-static inline void ftrace_trace_userstack(struct ring_buffer *buffer,
- unsigned long flags, int pc)
-{
-}
-
static inline void __trace_stack(struct trace_array *tr, unsigned long flags,
int skip, int pc)
{
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-29 20:47    [W:0.203 / U:10.480 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site