lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:core/stacktrace] dm persistent data: Simplify stack trace handling
Commit-ID:  be9c52ed84eb0949fed3d4140e35ea70eecb02a2
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/be9c52ed84eb0949fed3d4140e35ea70eecb02a2
Author: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
AuthorDate: Thu, 25 Apr 2019 11:45:08 +0200
Committer: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CommitDate: Mon, 29 Apr 2019 12:37:52 +0200

dm persistent data: Simplify stack trace handling

Replace the indirection through struct stack_trace with an invocation of
the storage array based interface. This results in less storage space and
indirection.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Reviewed-by: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: dm-devel@redhat.com
Cc: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com>
Cc: Alasdair Kergon <agk@redhat.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>
Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: kasan-dev@googlegroups.com
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Akinobu Mita <akinobu.mita@gmail.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org
Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
Cc: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>
Cc: Johannes Thumshirn <jthumshirn@suse.de>
Cc: David Sterba <dsterba@suse.com>
Cc: Chris Mason <clm@fb.com>
Cc: Josef Bacik <josef@toxicpanda.com>
Cc: linux-btrfs@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>
Cc: intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org
Cc: Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>
Cc: dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
Cc: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>
Cc: Tom Zanussi <tom.zanussi@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Miroslav Benes <mbenes@suse.cz>
Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190425094802.533968922@linutronix.de

---
drivers/md/persistent-data/dm-block-manager.c | 19 +++++++++----------
1 file changed, 9 insertions(+), 10 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/md/persistent-data/dm-block-manager.c b/drivers/md/persistent-data/dm-block-manager.c
index 3972232b8037..749ec268d957 100644
--- a/drivers/md/persistent-data/dm-block-manager.c
+++ b/drivers/md/persistent-data/dm-block-manager.c
@@ -35,7 +35,10 @@
#define MAX_HOLDERS 4
#define MAX_STACK 10

-typedef unsigned long stack_entries[MAX_STACK];
+struct stack_store {
+ unsigned int nr_entries;
+ unsigned long entries[MAX_STACK];
+};

struct block_lock {
spinlock_t lock;
@@ -44,8 +47,7 @@ struct block_lock {
struct task_struct *holders[MAX_HOLDERS];

#ifdef CONFIG_DM_DEBUG_BLOCK_STACK_TRACING
- struct stack_trace traces[MAX_HOLDERS];
- stack_entries entries[MAX_HOLDERS];
+ struct stack_store traces[MAX_HOLDERS];
#endif
};

@@ -73,7 +75,7 @@ static void __add_holder(struct block_lock *lock, struct task_struct *task)
{
unsigned h = __find_holder(lock, NULL);
#ifdef CONFIG_DM_DEBUG_BLOCK_STACK_TRACING
- struct stack_trace *t;
+ struct stack_store *t;
#endif

get_task_struct(task);
@@ -81,11 +83,7 @@ static void __add_holder(struct block_lock *lock, struct task_struct *task)

#ifdef CONFIG_DM_DEBUG_BLOCK_STACK_TRACING
t = lock->traces + h;
- t->nr_entries = 0;
- t->max_entries = MAX_STACK;
- t->entries = lock->entries[h];
- t->skip = 2;
- save_stack_trace(t);
+ t->nr_entries = stack_trace_save(t->entries, MAX_STACK, 2);
#endif
}

@@ -106,7 +104,8 @@ static int __check_holder(struct block_lock *lock)
DMERR("recursive lock detected in metadata");
#ifdef CONFIG_DM_DEBUG_BLOCK_STACK_TRACING
DMERR("previously held here:");
- print_stack_trace(lock->traces + i, 4);
+ stack_trace_print(lock->traces[i].entries,
+ lock->traces[i].nr_entries, 4);

DMERR("subsequent acquisition attempted here:");
dump_stack();
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-29 20:43    [W:0.189 / U:24.368 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site