lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:core/stacktrace] lib/stackdepot: Provide functions which operate on plain storage arrays
Commit-ID:  c0cfc337264c5e02e0bc79de6b62857999588879
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/c0cfc337264c5e02e0bc79de6b62857999588879
Author: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
AuthorDate: Thu, 25 Apr 2019 11:44:56 +0200
Committer: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CommitDate: Mon, 29 Apr 2019 12:37:47 +0200

lib/stackdepot: Provide functions which operate on plain storage arrays

The struct stack_trace indirection in the stack depot functions is a truly
pointless excercise which requires horrible code at the callsites.

Provide interfaces based on plain storage arrays.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Reviewed-by: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: kasan-dev@googlegroups.com
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Akinobu Mita <akinobu.mita@gmail.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org
Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
Cc: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>
Cc: Johannes Thumshirn <jthumshirn@suse.de>
Cc: David Sterba <dsterba@suse.com>
Cc: Chris Mason <clm@fb.com>
Cc: Josef Bacik <josef@toxicpanda.com>
Cc: linux-btrfs@vger.kernel.org
Cc: dm-devel@redhat.com
Cc: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com>
Cc: Alasdair Kergon <agk@redhat.com>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>
Cc: intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org
Cc: Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>
Cc: dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
Cc: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>
Cc: Tom Zanussi <tom.zanussi@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Miroslav Benes <mbenes@suse.cz>
Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190425094801.414574828@linutronix.de

---
include/linux/stackdepot.h | 4 +++
lib/stackdepot.c | 70 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++-------------
2 files changed, 55 insertions(+), 19 deletions(-)

diff --git a/include/linux/stackdepot.h b/include/linux/stackdepot.h
index 7978b3e2c1e1..4297c6d2991d 100644
--- a/include/linux/stackdepot.h
+++ b/include/linux/stackdepot.h
@@ -26,7 +26,11 @@ typedef u32 depot_stack_handle_t;
struct stack_trace;

depot_stack_handle_t depot_save_stack(struct stack_trace *trace, gfp_t flags);
+depot_stack_handle_t stack_depot_save(unsigned long *entries,
+ unsigned int nr_entries, gfp_t gfp_flags);

void depot_fetch_stack(depot_stack_handle_t handle, struct stack_trace *trace);
+unsigned int stack_depot_fetch(depot_stack_handle_t handle,
+ unsigned long **entries);

#endif
diff --git a/lib/stackdepot.c b/lib/stackdepot.c
index e513459a5601..e84f8e58495c 100644
--- a/lib/stackdepot.c
+++ b/lib/stackdepot.c
@@ -194,40 +194,60 @@ static inline struct stack_record *find_stack(struct stack_record *bucket,
return NULL;
}

-void depot_fetch_stack(depot_stack_handle_t handle, struct stack_trace *trace)
+/**
+ * stack_depot_fetch - Fetch stack entries from a depot
+ *
+ * @handle: Stack depot handle which was returned from
+ * stack_depot_save().
+ * @entries: Pointer to store the entries address
+ *
+ * Return: The number of trace entries for this depot.
+ */
+unsigned int stack_depot_fetch(depot_stack_handle_t handle,
+ unsigned long **entries)
{
union handle_parts parts = { .handle = handle };
void *slab = stack_slabs[parts.slabindex];
size_t offset = parts.offset << STACK_ALLOC_ALIGN;
struct stack_record *stack = slab + offset;

- trace->nr_entries = trace->max_entries = stack->size;
- trace->entries = stack->entries;
- trace->skip = 0;
+ *entries = stack->entries;
+ return stack->size;
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(stack_depot_fetch);
+
+void depot_fetch_stack(depot_stack_handle_t handle, struct stack_trace *trace)
+{
+ unsigned int nent = stack_depot_fetch(handle, &trace->entries);
+
+ trace->max_entries = trace->nr_entries = nent;
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(depot_fetch_stack);

/**
- * depot_save_stack - save stack in a stack depot.
- * @trace - the stacktrace to save.
- * @alloc_flags - flags for allocating additional memory if required.
+ * stack_depot_save - Save a stack trace from an array
+ *
+ * @entries: Pointer to storage array
+ * @nr_entries: Size of the storage array
+ * @alloc_flags: Allocation gfp flags
*
- * Returns the handle of the stack struct stored in depot.
+ * Return: The handle of the stack struct stored in depot
*/
-depot_stack_handle_t depot_save_stack(struct stack_trace *trace,
- gfp_t alloc_flags)
+depot_stack_handle_t stack_depot_save(unsigned long *entries,
+ unsigned int nr_entries,
+ gfp_t alloc_flags)
{
- u32 hash;
- depot_stack_handle_t retval = 0;
struct stack_record *found = NULL, **bucket;
- unsigned long flags;
+ depot_stack_handle_t retval = 0;
struct page *page = NULL;
void *prealloc = NULL;
+ unsigned long flags;
+ u32 hash;

- if (unlikely(trace->nr_entries == 0))
+ if (unlikely(nr_entries == 0))
goto fast_exit;

- hash = hash_stack(trace->entries, trace->nr_entries);
+ hash = hash_stack(entries, nr_entries);
bucket = &stack_table[hash & STACK_HASH_MASK];

/*
@@ -235,8 +255,8 @@ depot_stack_handle_t depot_save_stack(struct stack_trace *trace,
* The smp_load_acquire() here pairs with smp_store_release() to
* |bucket| below.
*/
- found = find_stack(smp_load_acquire(bucket), trace->entries,
- trace->nr_entries, hash);
+ found = find_stack(smp_load_acquire(bucket), entries,
+ nr_entries, hash);
if (found)
goto exit;

@@ -264,10 +284,10 @@ depot_stack_handle_t depot_save_stack(struct stack_trace *trace,

spin_lock_irqsave(&depot_lock, flags);

- found = find_stack(*bucket, trace->entries, trace->nr_entries, hash);
+ found = find_stack(*bucket, entries, nr_entries, hash);
if (!found) {
struct stack_record *new =
- depot_alloc_stack(trace->entries, trace->nr_entries,
+ depot_alloc_stack(entries, nr_entries,
hash, &prealloc, alloc_flags);
if (new) {
new->next = *bucket;
@@ -297,4 +317,16 @@ exit:
fast_exit:
return retval;
}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(stack_depot_save);
+
+/**
+ * depot_save_stack - save stack in a stack depot.
+ * @trace - the stacktrace to save.
+ * @alloc_flags - flags for allocating additional memory if required.
+ */
+depot_stack_handle_t depot_save_stack(struct stack_trace *trace,
+ gfp_t alloc_flags)
+{
+ return stack_depot_save(trace->entries, trace->nr_entries, alloc_flags);
+}
EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(depot_save_stack);
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-29 20:34    [W:0.208 / U:2.764 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site