lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/mm] x86/Kconfig: Make SPARSEMEM default for 32-bit x86
Commit-ID:  6ad57f7f2cbf65daced27f023cc99360742a24b9
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/6ad57f7f2cbf65daced27f023cc99360742a24b9
Author: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
AuthorDate: Wed, 24 Apr 2019 16:24:11 +0300
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Thu, 25 Apr 2019 09:02:17 +0200

x86/Kconfig: Make SPARSEMEM default for 32-bit x86

Sparsemem has been a default memory model for x86-64 for over a decade,
since:

b263295dbffd ("x86: 64-bit, make sparsemem vmemmap the only memory model").

Make it the default for 32-bit NUMA systems (if there any left) as well.

Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1556112252-9339-2-git-send-email-rppt@linux.ibm.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/Kconfig | 7 +------
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 6 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/Kconfig b/arch/x86/Kconfig
index 5ad92419be19..0b91756ed980 100644
--- a/arch/x86/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/x86/Kconfig
@@ -1609,10 +1609,6 @@ config ARCH_DISCONTIGMEM_ENABLE
def_bool y
depends on NUMA && X86_32

-config ARCH_DISCONTIGMEM_DEFAULT
- def_bool y
- depends on NUMA && X86_32
-
config ARCH_SPARSEMEM_ENABLE
def_bool y
depends on X86_64 || NUMA || X86_32 || X86_32_NON_STANDARD
@@ -1620,8 +1616,7 @@ config ARCH_SPARSEMEM_ENABLE
select SPARSEMEM_VMEMMAP_ENABLE if X86_64

config ARCH_SPARSEMEM_DEFAULT
- def_bool y
- depends on X86_64
+ def_bool X86_64 || (NUMA && X86_32)

config ARCH_SELECT_MEMORY_MODEL
def_bool y
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-25 09:34    [W:0.068 / U:0.324 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site