lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [24]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [RFC PATCH for 5.2 08/10] rseq/selftests: aarch64 code signature: handle big-endian environment
On Wed, Apr 24, 2019 at 11:25:00AM -0400, Mathieu Desnoyers wrote:
> Handle compiling with -mbig-endian on aarch64, which generates binaries
> with mixed code vs data endianness (little endian code, big endian
> data).
>
> Else mismatch between code endianness for the generated signatures and
> data endianness for the RSEQ_SIG parameter passed to the rseq
> registration will trigger application segmentation faults when the
> kernel try to abort rseq critical sections.
>
> Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
> CC: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> CC: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> CC: Joel Fernandes <joelaf@google.com>
> CC: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> CC: Dave Watson <davejwatson@fb.com>
> CC: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> CC: Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>
> CC: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
> CC: linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org
> CC: "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
> CC: Chris Lameter <cl@linux.com>
> CC: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
> CC: Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@gmail.com>
> CC: "Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> CC: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>
> CC: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
> CC: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>
> CC: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
> CC: Ben Maurer <bmaurer@fb.com>
> CC: linux-api@vger.kernel.org
> CC: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
> CC: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> CC: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
> ---
> tools/testing/selftests/rseq/rseq-arm64.h | 17 +++++++++++++++--
> 1 file changed, 15 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/tools/testing/selftests/rseq/rseq-arm64.h b/tools/testing/selftests/rseq/rseq-arm64.h
> index b41a2a48e965..200dae9e4208 100644
> --- a/tools/testing/selftests/rseq/rseq-arm64.h
> +++ b/tools/testing/selftests/rseq/rseq-arm64.h
> @@ -6,7 +6,20 @@
> * (C) Copyright 2018 - Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> */
>
> -#define RSEQ_SIG 0xd428bc00 /* BRK #0x45E0 */
> +/*
> + * aarch64 -mbig-endian generates mixed endianness code vs data:
> + * little-endian code and big-endian data. Ensure the RSEQ_SIG signature
> + * matches code endianness.
> + */
> +#define RSEQ_SIG_CODE 0xd428bc00 /* BRK #0x45E0. */
> +
> +#ifdef __AARCH64EB__
> +#define RSEQ_SIG_DATA 0x00bc28d4 /* BRK #0x45E0. */

It would be neater to implement swab32 and use that with RSEQ_SIG_CODE,
but either way:

Acked-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>

Will

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-24 18:46    [W:0.129 / U:0.224 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site